Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2006-08-25 - 4:36 p.m.
Hey....anyone want to come out to L.A., grab a carload of boxes and follow me up to the Bay Area? I'm getting worried that I don't have enough car space for the last few things (a.k.a.: loads of stuff). I swear, my stuff is multiplying as I pack....it's breeding like rabbits while I sleep. Everyday, I wake up and there's more stuff. Someone make it stopppp!!!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006-08-23 - 11:28 p.m.
Oy! Just when I though I had got everything packed, I checked the dishwasher one last time.....and it's FULL.

Now how did that happen?

I swear the thing was empty when we left a week or so ago with the semi~truck that had been packed by our *oh~so~expensive* movers.

Now it's full.

Full of all the dishes I was sure had been packed.

(I think I'm living in the Twilight Zone!)

See....I told you L.A. does not want me to leave!!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006-08-23 - 9:14 p.m.
Well, as much as I don't want to leave L.A., it seems that L.A. doesn't want me to go either. For one thing, the elevator is out of service until Monday. Oy. I know, that's not a big deal, but there are other things competing to delay my departure as well. I'm not sure whether to be happy or irritated about this. Is my cup half full...or half empty? Or do I just need another drink?! (Hmmm....is the liquor store still open?)

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006-08-22 - 10:40 p.m.
So I'm back to pick up the odds and ends...and clean the place. Has it really been that long since I last vacuumed? I swear I had to empty that thing about 5 times so far...and I'm not even done yet! Oy! (I even had to order new filters for it today!)

Really, though, the move has gone well. Nothing broken so far.....that I know of. There was one box that didn't look so good that was marked, "Grandma's Vase." But I didn't have the courage to look inside it, and it is now deep inside the storage unit. I'll try to remain in denial for as long as I can.

On another note, are you supposed to tip the movers? The first crew, that helped us load the truck....I did not tip. But then later, I noticed on their receipt that there was a note that said tipping would be appreciated. Oops.

So then (3 days later) we get another crew to help us unload the truck. They asked for a 2hour minimum plus travel which would work out to over $150. As it turned out, it only took them 45 minutes to unload the truck. They were nice enough to discount that down to $140. I gave them the full $150 because I had already counted it out, and that was what we were expecting to pay.

As they were on the way out, I heard them grumbling about how small the tip was.

Ok. It was a $10 tip. BUT, they had just got paid for a 2 hour job that only took them 45 minutes!

Argh. Did I mess up here, or were they just jerks? And anyway....are you really expected to tip movers? I generally over tip at restaurants and bars (when the service is decent)......but movers? Anyone have any advice here?

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006-08-10 - 11:16 p.m.
Well, tomorrow we shove off. Got a 15 foot truck, hotel reservations, and movers scheduled to help us load and unload. What seemed like a move that would cost $600 has some how evolved into $1000 and counting. Did you know that a 15 foot truck only gets 8 miles to the gallon?! Oy. And the movers these days....they cost more than gas! At least we will have a bit of an oasis in the middle, as we will be staying over at our favorite place in the middle of nowhere, Harris Ranch.

So stay tuned next week, I'm sure I'll have some sort of moving story. And pray that the truck doesn't break down! (I think just about every rental truck I've used to move in the past has had some sort of problem.)

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006-08-04 - 11:40 p.m.
MOVING

Well, I have been known to make last minute decisions. Sometimes it's easier to make hard decisions that way. So, I'm moving out of L.A. And this is something that I sooooo do not want to do. But the time has come. It's just become wayyyyy too hard to live in 3 (three!) different cities in two states.

Remember when gas was cheap...or at least, less expensive? And the good ole days when rent was, uh, cheaper? Well, five years in, and a studio here is going for $1800, and people think they are getting a bargain to buy a condo for *just under a million.*

It's time to go.

I'll post a bit more over the next few days. (Any excuse to take a break from packing!!) Anybody wanna come help pack??

Stay tuned.....

comments??? (5 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.