Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2003-09-03 - 7:14 p.m.

Alright, so this is the last post about my new car, I promise! But I did have to post a picture...otherwise it just wouldn't have been right! Anyway, this pic was taken at the recycling center.....which goes to show that SUV owners aren't all that bad....some of us do recycle!!

Of course, now that I've got the car.....I've got to get back on the road again! Although, I still can't decide if I'm leaving tomorrow or not. But stay tuned.....I've got 1200 miles ahead of me....and you know there will be stories to tell. (And I'm taking Acidman's advice: "Plan ahead....NEVER run out of cocktails." You'd think I'd know this by now!) See ya soon!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-09-01 - 9:38 p.m.
I have a ROCK CHIP already!!!....and I haven't even driven the car 100 miles yet!!! Can you believe that?! Oy. Well, it's only a microscopic chip....but to me, I can see it from across the parking lot! (The first chip is always the worst.)

Anyway, for those inquiring minds who want to know.....I got a BMW X5 (which is the SUV version of a BMW). I still haven't had time to take pictures of it yet (too busy worrying over rock chips! (*wink*)) But hopefully tomorrow, I'll get out there and snap a few so I can show you what an X5 actually is.

But for now, it's time to go to bed (I've run out of cocktails! *gasp*) So, see you tomorrow everybody!

comments??? (4 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-08-31 - 12:05 a.m.
So about the car.....yes, I finally did buy it! But I don't actually have it yet...so I'm feeling sort of anticlimactic right now.

But I suppose I should give you the whole weird story:

Originally, I started looking for the car in California.....and I found it, the one I wanted, it was perfect. But then I found out it would cost me a whole lot more to buy it in CA, so I decided to look elsewhere. Of course, after much searching, I found out that it actually might be cheaper to buy it in CA (yeah, it's complicated).....but by that point, my perfect car had been sold!

OK.....so then I find the car in Oregon, I think. We go to the dealership and find out it has sold too! They have one in my price range, but not my color. Then they tell me they can get me the color I want, they just have to do a search. Amazingly, the search tells them that my perfect car is in California! Oy!!

Finally, after much contemplation, wheeling and dealing.....they make me such a good deal on the one they have (that's the wrong color)....I have no choice but to say *yes*!

But it took sooooo long to decide on the color, etc......that they couldn't get the car ready for me today. So I have to drive all the way back to Portland (100 miles each way) again tomorrow to pick up the car. (And I've bought enough cars to know....it's not over yet!) Until I have the keys in my hand and the car in the driveway....the deal can change. So I want to be excited.....but....I'm trying to still be calm.

So stay tuned everybody! I'm sure there will be more tomorrow. Oh, I know, you're still wondering what kind of car I got.......well it's black! (Don't worry, I'll reveal its identity once I actually take delivery.)

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-08-27 - 9:02 p.m.
First of all, a piece of advice: never wash a jacket that has a full packet of Kleenex in the pocket.....unless you want a tissue bomb to go off in your washer. Oy! Always check your pockets (yeah, I should know this by now!)

In other news, yes, I'm still on the road road road. Tomorrow I'm doing another epic drive again. I've lost count of how many times this month I've driven from Astoria to Los Angeles to Astoria to..... It's got to the point where I wake up in the middle of the night, and I don't know where I am! (Maybe I should be buying a Winnebago instead of a car.....hmmm.)

Anyway....posting will continue to be a bit sporadic....but I promise I'll settle down soon....really!

Keep in touch everybody!! Goodnight!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-08-25 - 11:11 p.m.
So it seems like I've only been here about 5 minutes, and already I'm heading back up North. Will the driving ever stop??! I'm not sure why I even have a place in L.A. anymore.....I'm never here!!

This time, the drive up is all about car buying (even though I still haven't decided for sure.) And I know you're wondering why I need to drive a thousand miles just to buy a car (especially when I haven't completely decided yet!) But it's all about my Dad. He is the master car deal negotiator (even his neighbors ask him to come along when they're buying a car!)....I wouldn't want to make a deal without him.

Long before I was born, my Grandfather and him had a car dealership. Everything was cars cars cars. But then my Grandfather died unexpectedly (my Dad was 17 at the time) and the car lot was sold. My Dad then continued on with the other part of the family business (trailer parks)......but I think he always wished that he had kept the car lot and had continued in that direction.

So now when it comes time to buy a car.....not only is my Dad the best person to make the deal (he knows all the tricks).....but also, he loves being part of the whole deal making process. So I'm making the thousand mile drive because I know it will make my Dad happy....and I just might get a good deal out of the deal!

My Dad is 66 now, but he seems frail and I just hate that!! He hasn't aged well.....or at least in my mind, he hasn't. I want him to be around forever......but what can you do?!! Anyway, if it makes him happy for me to drive all the way up there, then that's what I'll do.

Goodnight everybody....stay tuned!!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-08-24 - 10:17 p.m.

The Hollywood Bowl and Tony Bennett.....it doesn't get much better than that!
So last night, we got on a crowded bus filled a group of people who were caricatures of caricatures (you find that a lot in L.A.!)....and tried to entertain ourselves for an hour, while the bus made it's way along the scenic route (read: slow route) and finally deposited us amongst the throngs that had already gathered at the Bowl.

Now if you know me at all, you'd find it amazing that I got on the bus in the first place....I cannot stand public transportation....I want to drive my own self! (yeah, I'm weird like that.) But, I do have to admit, the bus is the only way to go (unless you can afford a limo!). Otherwise, you could expect to spend the rest of your life stuck in gridlock limbo looking for a non~existant parking place!

And what can I say about the concert other than it was FABULOUS!! How could it not be? (Well, actually, the opening act was a bit odd....they were great, but they were playing music from the roaring 20's.....which seemed like an odd choice of opening music, to me.....and I could tell the audience was thinking the same thing!) But overall, we had a really fun time (they even let you bring your own food and wine....gotta love that!!) Can't wait till next month when we go back to see James Brown!!

Goodnight everyone! (Oh wait!.....I almost forgot.....Zelda wanted some kind of a hint as to what kind of car I might be buying. I still haven't decided if I'm going to buy it yet....but I'll give you one hint: it's going to be silver!)

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-08-22 - 12:10 a.m.
Have you ever sat down in a chair at the end of a long day, and thought it was the most comfortable chair you've ever sat in? Have you ever had to pry yourself out of bed because the bed was so perfectly comfortable that you just didn't want to ever get up?!

Well, that's how I felt today when I drove what I think might be the perfect car. But that's all I'm going to say for now, because I still haven't decided yet. Or have I? Hmmm.

Goodnight everybody.....I'll see you in a couple days.....I'm still not there yet!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.