Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2002-05-30 - 11:09 p.m.

Ok....to continue on with my story: We left Flagstaff extremely late, mainly because our hotel offered check out at 1:00pm (and I love to sleep in.....or should I say, I hate to get up) then we took the scenic route (through much holiday traffic),and promply got lost! But this ended up being a good thing.

Through all of our meanderings, we ended up in the city of Jerome....a former mining town and ghost town that is now being rediscovered, but still has the charm of being undiscovered. High up in the hills...up a terribly steep and winding road, we came upon The Grand Hotel. Of course, we just had to stop for a drink!! And while we were drinking, we dedided that we should forego our reservations in Laughlin and spend the night at The Grand Hotel. Unfortunately, they were full for the night, so we had to press on. But we have vowed to come back. This was an amazingly picturesque place....with an incredible view.....and with a full bar and restaurant (and they know how to make a good drink!) If you find yourself near the Grand Canyon....be sure to make your way to Jerome....it's only a couple hours away...and it is really worth your while...(but be sure to make your reservations in advance!)

After that we headed to Laughlin, Nevada and arrived sometime around 9:30PM. But it was good that we had such a late start.....because when we finally got there, it was only 90 degrees! I can't imagine how hot it would have been if we had arrived mid-day, like we had originally planned!!

Well...I'll have to finish the story tomorrow....I'm yawning, now....so it's time to go to bed. See you later!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-05-29 - 11:12 p.m.

OK.....I guess I shoud pick up where I left off.....Meteor Crater! First, we left Grand Canyon and drove to Flagstaff, Arizona where we had reservations at Little America. For some reason, I thought this was going to be a really luxurious and totally cool place to stay. But no! It was more like staying in an old folks home that had been last decorated in the 1970's. The staff seemed like they had last been employed at a funeral home. Not only that, but they were like Nazi's about "NO PETS!" (I always travel with my cat, and can sneak her in almost anywhere. Although I didn't have any problems here, they had sooo many "NO PETS!" signs everywhere...I was sure we were going to be discovered and thrown out!) But in the end...I grew to like the place. It had the best bed of any of the hotels we stayed at....and the room was huge!! We had a gigantic living room and an amazing marble bathroom with two sinks and a very large oval shaped bath tub. A person could actually live here!!

We stayed at this place so we could go to Meteor Crater. But, when we arrived at the crater, I was thinking, "Woo hoo!...a big hole in the ground!" After exploring it a bit, though, I did actually like it....but, I think I enjoyed getting there more than actually being there! (Sorry, Alan!)

On our drive out to the Crater, we found the Twin Arrows...an old abandonded gas station and cafe. So picturesque that we just had to stop.....I think this was my favorite thing about going to the Crater!

Anyway, the next day, we left Flagstaff to head to Laughlin, Nevada....but we got lost and found a really fabulous ghost town! I'll have to tell you about that tomorrow, though....it's a whole story in itself.....so stay tuned!! Good night for now!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.