Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2002-05-03 - 10:32 p.m.

Good evening from Astoria, Oregon. This has been a liesurely day of just hanging around the building and doing ordinary things. We went shopping... I got my car lubed. We even cooked dinner at the building...which is rare. We usually eat out because I don't have much of a kitchen here....just a toaster oven and some hot plates....but my Love can do amazing things in a limited kitchen....we had a fabulous pasta with spicy basalmic tomato sauce...covered in parmesan....and jalepeno cheese bread with a tapenade of olives, roasted pine nuts, and garlic....which I can't stop eating! (I'm only typing this now so my fingers will be too busy to pick up another piece!!)

Tomorrow's plan is to drive about 8 hours or so to Dunsmuir, California where we have reservations at The Caboose Motel Railroad Park Resort. Supposedly, all the rooms are in restored 100 year old railroad cars....and our room is going to be a caboose! I've heard about this place for a long time and always thought it would be fun to stay there.....finally, now we will. I don't think they have a website or I'd link it...so I'll try and get some pictures of it to post....and, of course....this is out in the middle of no where, so I don't expect to have internet access and most likely won't post tomorrow. But stick with me....when I find a phone I'll give you an update.

Now I should go take my bath and get to bed early, since I've got to get up early tomorrow!!! (and I don't do early!) Anyway....goodnight....see you in a day or so.....

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-05-03 - 1:39 a.m.
Just checking in to say hello....no big post tonight. We left Seattle quite late and only arrived in Astoria a little bit ago. It's now almost 2am....and after four hours of driving, it's time to go to bed. See you tomorrow!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-05-01 - 11:45 p.m.

Today we drove up to Seattle, and are staying at The Edgewater Hotel. My love would like you to know that this is where The Beatles stayed when they came to Seattle (but I'm not a Beatles fan, so this does not really matter to me...Oops!..sorry to all you Beatle fans!) Anyway, the Edgewater used to advertise that you could "fish from your room!" since most of the rooms are directly over the water, but I think they're trying to discourage that now (they don't want a lot of stinking fish in the rooms!)...they've kind of gone upscale

If you stay here, you really should get a water view room...but I guess I would say that about any place that has water view rooms. I mean, if you're going to go stay in a hotel that has a view, you should just pay the extra and get the view!! You only live once!

I've found that to get the best value, you should book a city view room, then ask to be upgraded when you check in. It's a gamble because they might not be able to upgrade you, but if they can, it's cheaper that that way. But, actually, either room is quite good.

Before we left for Seattle we stopped over at the Columbia River Maritime Museum. This is just across the street from my building. It's an amazing museum...even though I've been there several times, I still keep finding new things....and they have so many shipwreck related items...not just pictures, but actual stuff that either washed up on shore or was scavenged from the ships. I just love this museum!

Anyway, as I'm typing this, my love is sound asleep in bed...I'm afraid he's got a cold...all this travel is a bit much. I'm quite used to it...driving hundreds of miles all over...but this is not quite his thing....so it's time for me to say goodbye....and go nurse him.

Oh...I almost forgot...the picture of the martini that I always have on my page...this was taken here, at the bar at the Edgewater.

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-30 - 8:45 p.m.
Well, I'm taking some time out to catch up on last week's Friday Five. I usually don't like to back track on these things, but this one is so appropriate for me....

1.What are your hobbies? Well, I suppose blogging has become my "hobby." I don't really like the term "hobby".....to me it suggests someone with too much time on their hands who does lots of litte craft things.....but the essence of the term, doing something regularly and repeatedly...just for the pleasure of it......this I like....and with that definition, I have many hobbies!

2. Do you collect anything? I collect too many things. Usually, I get the bug to start collecting something, and then go at it with a vengence. But then I get satisfied somehow, and I stop collecting whatever it is and move on to something new. My most long running collections have been enameled metal signs (mostly oil related) and camels (but not the cigarette related items)....although I think I'm getting done on the camels. My most current obsessions are postcards of The Cliff House in San Fransisco.... restaurant ware plates that are white with a black outlined scalloped border.... and smashed pennies.

3. Is there a hobby you're interested in, but just don't have the time/money to do? No. Basically all my "hobbies" would be enhanced if I had infinite amounts of money, but generally if I find a particularly good piece of whatever I'm collecting, I tend to buy it whether or not I can afford it (don't try this at home!).

4. Have you ever turned a hobby into a moneymaking opportunity? Well, yes. About 10 years ago, I was faced with having to find a new way to make a living (long story, not to be told now) and I had been collecting so many things for so long.....and I had just bought this big building in Oregon....so I opened an antique store. It got me by for a long time, but now I'm gradually getting out of the business. My advice to anyone who wants to open and antique store is to talk to as many antique store owners as possible, and really listen to everything they have to say.....and then estimate that it will be ten times harder than that!

5. Besides web-related stuff (burbs, rings, etc.), what clubs do you belong to? No clubs. I'm a really private person (except on the internet, I guess)....but I think in a way this blogging thing is a little like a club. I'm not a member of any rings or anything, but just blogging and visiting other peoples blogs.....and it seems that there are certain people who always visit certain blogs.....that's as close to a club that I get.

Too much stuff!!!!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.