Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2014-01-20 - 12:32 a.m.
I had meant to post about pillows today. I had even left a comment on another site about a pillow fight.

But we had a freaky car crash happen right in front of us, and I just felt the need to talk about it.

We were on our way to the Long Beach Antique Market, and this car started drifting/changing lanes in front of us. It looked like he was headed for the Carpool lane, but he drifted across 3 lanes and then crashed straight into the dividing wall.

It was one of those things that happens in slow motion like a dream, but it was in real time.

Now at this point, I'm slowing wayyyy down, because if he over corrects, he's going to fly back across lanes in front of me.

But he just keeps going at speed, 70mph or so, riding the center divider wall as his car is breaking apart. He probably went a quarter of a mile or so, with his car half on the wall before he eventually came to a stop.

So scary and freaky.

Alan called 911 as I was driving. We were both shaken up, having watch it happen. We were both nearly in tears as he called it in. We were in no position to stop, there was nothing we could do but to call it in.

As we drove on, we talked over what could have cause this...heart attack, stroke, seizure?

So scary. It was lucky that there were no cars in the lanes he drifted across just then, because it was somewhat busy with traffic right then. Moments before, I had been thinking that people were driving crazy, changing lanes too much. Hopefully traffic that was coming up behind saw it in time, but I don't know.

My heart goes out to him and his family. I hope he is OK.

It was just so freaky to watch this happen....right there in front of me.

Those of you who know me well, know that my Dad used to be an accident investigator/photographer. But he would go to the scene *after* the fact. And I would often go with him. But it's totally different to see it happen in front of you and not be able to do anything other than call it in.

Argh...


(Thank you for listening. This really did freak me out a bit. I'll try to get back to more happy posting soon. Until then, please send good thoughts for this person and their family.)

(*note: I do not know if this was a man or woman. It looked to be a man as I was passing, but that was a fleeting moment in light of all that was going on.)


comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.