Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2004-12-05 - 10:26 p.m.
When I go to the beach, I like to walk alone and just contemplate whatever it is that I'm contemplating at the moment. I watch the sunset. I comb the beach. I wade in the ocean. But I also seem to attract lonely people who want to tag along and talk to me.

It started when I first moved to L.A. I was walking at the beach one day, in a real need to be by myself and sort out my thoughts...my Dad had just had a heart attack (don't worry, he's doing just fine now.) An elderly gentleman started up a conversation and kept up with me as I walked. I was somewhat unnerved by this because I really needed to be by myself, but he was very up beat and friendly so I walked along with him for a bit. Eventually, though, I think he realized that I needed to be by myself so he moved on.

As much as I was bothered by that first encounter, I now look forward to seeing him at the beach. We seemed to run into each other quite often. For a while, I was trying to get back into rollerskating, and every time he'd see me, he'd shout encouragement, "You're doing good, girl...keep it up!" Sometimes, months will pass before I see him again, and then it's always like a little reunion when we run into each other. He's sort of like grandfather figure, but really he's just a stranger that I see at the beach.

But then there is another fellow that I met at the beach recently. And I'm quite not sure what to do with him. We happen to live on the same street, and happen to walk at the beach about the same time each day. (Hmmm....is he following me??) He keeps chatting me up whenever I see him on the beach. Usually we just chat for a second and go our separate ways, but yesterday he asked if we could get together for coffee sometime. Being polite, I said sure, that would be fine. So today we went out to coffee. Now he's calling me (yes, I was foolish and gave him my number!) He seemed just like a lonely fool. And of course, I do have a boyfriend! But what to do? How to be polite and brush him off? He is much older, not elderly, but not anywhere near my age. I think he just wants to talk and have someone to talk to.

Argh! I just want to go to the beach and be ALONE. But all of the sudden, I'm not alone! Oy.

comments??? (4 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.