Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2004-01-31 - 11:56 p.m.

It's been a long time since I've done the Friday Five...but this is a good one! So here you go:

You have just won one million dollars:
(I'm going to assume that's a million dollars after taxes!)

1. Who do you call first?
I'd call my Love first, then my Dad.

2. What is the first thing you buy for yourself?
I used to always think I'd by a Ferrari the moment I won the lottery. But these days, a million dollars doesn't go too far.....so I'd probably start off by buying a very expensive bottle of champagne.....and then contemplate my next purchase while I'm drinking.

3. What is the first thing you buy for someone else?
That is a complicated question. (Actually, I'd probably go broke buying things for other people!)

4. Do you give any away? If yes, to whom?
Most definitely, I would give half to my Love. That way there is no jealousy, no arguing over money....hopefully! Also, I would give a generous amount to my Dad for helping me out in all the lean and troubled times. (I know he's expecting half.....but there might be some negotiation there....*wink*!) And I do want to contribute to some charities, particularly breast cancer and diabetes.....and small town animal shelters.

5. Do you invest any? If so, how?
Wow, do I have any left after all of the above?! Well, I would definitely try to buy some property. Real estate has never failed me....it's how I've made my living, and how my family has made it's living. If I have any money to spare, I'd probably buy some funky warehouse in some weird town....that's what I do!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2004-01-27 - 10:49 p.m.

Can you believe it's been 5 days since I last blogged?! I think I'm losing my touch!

Anyway, I think when I last blogged, we were about to go to the Claremont Resort.....and it was, of course, fabulous! It was a much needed little get~a~way. If you're ever in the San Francisco bay area, you really should consider staying there, or at least eating there. (To find the best price on a room, go to expedia.com....then call the hotel and see what their prices are......the hotel will match the lowest price you find on the internet.)
As for the food, by all means, order the discovery menu (I think that's what it was called!)......you get multiple courses for a minimal amount of money. The prices in the restaurant seemed really quite reasonable (except for the wine.....one of our glasses of wine cost almost as much as an entree!). We were able to order a huge multi~course meal (that would have been more than enough food for 2), another entree, a $14 glass of wine, a $7 martini, and a dessert sampler (in addition to the dessert that came with the discovery menu).....and it all came to around $100. We found that to be particularly amazing, since we have been to other restaurants where a sampling of appetizers and a couple of drinks will quickly get you up to at least $80. So I highly recommend the place!

In other news, Sunday I drove back to L.A.....but only after smashing my finger in the tailgate of my car....then finding out I was low on oil and water (I mean coolant!...this car doesn't drink water!).....then finding out I have a snooty car that only takes certain types of high end fluids (sort of like me, I guess!)....then having a major freak out when it started beeping at me when I was in the middle of no where!

I guess I should explain.

So being the "car guy" woman that I am, you'd think that I would check my fluids (the car's!) regularly, right?! Well, it's a brand new car.....how much oil and water could it burn?! But they told me to check it often, and finally I remembered.....20 minutes before I was about to leave on a 400 mile drive....on a Sunday!

Of course, everything was low.

Now, on a normal car, you'd just throw in some water, buy a can of oil and be on your way. But this is a BMW. You can't just put water and oil in a BMW.....it has to be special oil and coolant! So I go to the auto parts store, figuring someone there will be able to help me. But no! I get some guy who can't even spell BMW ! Oy. And of course, it's Sunday so all of the service departments are closed. So I make my best guess on the coolant and decide the oil can wait till I get to L.A (it's only down a quart). And I leave.

Well, I get about 300 miles down the road, and it's now the middle of the night....and I'm at the top of a mountain pass....the car starts beeping and things start flashing. Oh great!

Of course, I'm figuring it's the stupid coolant that I put in, and now we're all gonna die!!

Ok, no not really. But it did freak me out...a little.

Anyway, as it turns out, it was just my car alerting me that it was near freezing outside, and that I should be careful and watch for ice. Wow. Do I have a freaky, snooty, high tech, bionic car, or what! Gotta love that!

So now I'm home safe.....sorry for rambling on so much, but that's what you get when I haven't posted in 5 days! Hope all is well with you guys.....see ya later everybody!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.