Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2003-07-21 - 11:57 a.m.
Just a quick note here: for the best upper body workout known to man......get out your crutches! You'll get rid of those flabby arms in no time. Oy!....I'm not sure which is more sore today, my knee or my arms. But hopefully today will be the last day I need crutches....I hope!!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-07-19 - 8:04 p.m.
Well I'm back! And I survived the surgery. It wasn't quite as bad as I had feared.....my biggest problem now is which drugs to take! The sent me home with two different kinds of pain meds, but so far I haven't taken either of them. I've been able to get by on a couple of tablets of Neuorphen Plus (codeine and ibuprophen)....and a few martinis *of course*! But I keep fearing it will hurt more later, which has been my experience in the past.....so I keep debating on which to take next, if anything at all.

Anyway, they sent me home with a video of the operation.....which I always find fascinating, but Alan had to cover his eyes a few times. It appears that the operation was a success.....they did actually find a chip of something floating around in there, and removed it as well as a couple of other bits that looked like they were about to come loose. So hopefully now all is good again. I'll see the doctor again on Thursday.

I would write more, but I'm sure you don't want all of the gorey details.....and I think it's time for me to lie down again. Thanks for all your good thoughts. I'll write again when I have something more fun to talk about!

Goodnight everybody!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-07-16 - 11:46 p.m.
So here I am in Seattle, sipping what will probably be my last bit of alcohol for several days. Funny, I can't remember the last time a day went by that did not include at least some alcohol......it was probably the last time I had surgery!

Anyway, for Meg, who asked why exactly am I having this operation......I will try to explain. I was born with knee caps that were just a bit out of alignment.....enough so that if I was running or playing or moved just so, one or the other would slip out of place causing me to fall. So when I was about 12, I had two surgeries to correct that. And it worked really well for the most part, but the technology at the time was still rather new....so my knees were never quite perfect.

Then, some years later, I had a nasty fall.....and that's really when the worst of my problems began. I had torn a tendon, but it was not diagnosed immediatly. Unfortunately, a torn tendon really needs to be repaired immediatly or it will not be entirely successful. It took me nearly 2 years to learn to walk normally again.

So then if you add my already not~so~perfect knees with a botched tendon repair......you get bad knees that have a lot of wear and tear. And on top of that, I've had several major falls....no, Meg, not from drinking! (rollerskating, tripped on a cracked street, fell down some stairs, knee gave out, knee gave out again.....etc.) Then last year I fell and tore one of the muscles that had been repaired in the first surgery I ever had.

I am the very definition of "bad knees."

The surgery on Friday is simply to remove some loose chip of something that probably broke loose during one of my many falls (if they can find it). It needs to be removed because it's quite painful at times when it gets caught in the joint. I've had this done once before on that knee, and it wasn't that bad....but still, I'm scared.....surgery is always scary. So bear with me, this probably isn't the last you'll hear on this topic, but I'll try to keep it to a minimum. And tomorrow, I get to play tourist all day....so hopefully I'll have something fun to write about!

Goodnight everyone......take care of your knees!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.