Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2003-07-07 - 10:24 p.m.
Anyone who knows me well, knows I absolutely hate shopping for clothes. Which isn't to say that I don't love shopping....I could spend my life shopping! But for some reason, probably deeply rooted in my childhood and too many hours in the dressing room with my Mother.....clothes make me cringe! Thus I have developed my *uniform* (somewhat like Andy Warhol had his "uniform").....I wear mostly black (no I am NOT goth!) and it's usually a variation on the same theme day after day. (It's one of my little quirks, Ok?!)

Anyway, tomorrow I'm headed up to Seattle to see my knee doctor. And since it's been several years since I've needed to see him....it turns out that all of my pants (*my uniform*) are very slim cut and won't roll up above my knee! (no, I haven't gained tons of weight, they're just very straight legged pants)

So I had to shop for pants today!! (*gasp*!!)

So why am I telling you this??! Well, I have no clue......except today was sort of traumatic in a stupid sort of way because I had to shop for clothes! And tomorrow I'm off to Seattle to find out if I have to have surgery or not (darned knee problems!). I'm sure there will be plenty to tell when I get back. Stay tuned everybody......I'll be back on Friday....I hope!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-07-06 - 3:37 p.m.
Long time no post, eh?! And where do I begin.....so much has happened since we left San Francisco. Well, we arrived in Astoria Thursday afternoon to find that the renovation of my building was in full swing. Even though I've been planning this for a very long time now, it was kind of disconcerting to come home to a building that looks more like it's being demolished than renovated. Right now, as I type this, I'm sitting between a huge stack of old rotted 2x4's and a pile of insulation that is threating to spill over onto my couch.....there's not much room left to walk! (And this morning, as I was taking a bath, the contractor (who has keys to the building) showed up......I had to get dressed in a hurry...Oy!) But it is good to finally get this project underway....the building needs a ton of work, and the guy who's doing it is really great.

Then yesterday we finally had the mega~garage~sale at the antique shop. Oddly, it seems like every year some weird thing happens on the day of the garage sale (sometimes cancelling the sale all together!). One year I had food poisoning...another year, my partner sprained his ankle....last year I had no sidewalk, and I wrecked my knee. This year, of course, it rained!!! But nothing was going to stop me this year.....not even rain! And actually, I think the rain might have helped.....people spent more time in the shop because they didn't want to be out in the rain.

Anyway, I've just been non~stop busy....this is the first chance I've had to take a break and blog....and I've got soooo much catching up to do! (You people are supposed to slow down on your posting when I can't get on line!!)

Well, stay tuned everybody.....right now I need to get back to the shop, but hopefully I'll be able to get back online again tomorrow. See ya!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-07-01 - 7:32 p.m.

Hey there! I thought I'd just pop in and say *hi*......so you don't forget me! I got here (San Franscisco) Sunday night and spent all day yesterday shopping and doing the city thing (and yes, Meg, having wayyyy too many cocktails......which is why nothing was posted last night!). Tomorrow we're off on the mega~epic 10 hour drive back to Oregon, so you probably won't hear from me again until Thursday.......but stay tuned because you know the moment I can get back online, I'll be posting something.

Oh...and I passed my traffic class! (of course, as it says in their ad *everyone is guaranteed to pass*)......but it was actually an Ok class, and I actually learned a few things (*gasp*)! The instructor was some kind of traffic attorney, so he was very knowlegeable about all the different ticketable offenses and how to avoid/get out of them......and he had a great sense of humor, which always helps.

Alright, that's it for now......don't give up on me, I will be back!! (PS.....the photo above is of a fire that burned about 1000 acres on Sunday. I was about an hour into my drive from L.A. to S.F when I saw it and took the pic. At the time, the fire had only just started and helicopters were flying over, trying to dowse the flame.....unfortunately I didn't get any pics of the helicopters.)

See ya later, everybody!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-06-27 - 7:40 p.m.
Well goodnight everybody.....I'm going to bed early tonight because I have to get up freaking early (it'll probably still be dark out!) tomorrow.....so I can spend 8 hours in *Traffic School.* (That's where they send people who go way~too~fast in the way~too~slow zone.) Fortunately, after doing my time, the unfortunate ticket will be removed from my driving record, and I might even get some of my *bail* money ($191) back! So in the end it's worth it ....but it's going to be one longggg and borrrrrring day!! I may post after or I may not......I might just be a zombie in need of a good cocktail (well, yeah, I'm always in need of a good cocktail....but tomorrow the need will probably be more intense!)

And then Sunday, I'm getting up early again (well, I might sleep in).....as I'm off on my long trek back to Oregon. So posting may be sparse here for a couple of days.....but I'll check in as often as I can.....so stay tuned!!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-06-26 - 11:18 p.m.
When I wake up in the morning, I can hear someone rustling around in the dumpster below my window. I know they're just fishing out the bottles and cans and whatever else that would be worthwhile to salvage. Some of these people are just vagrants, they live on the street and dumpster diving earns them a tiny bit of cash so they can score their next fix. But the few people that frequent my dumpster actually seem to be *career* recyclers. I can tell they work at it like a full time job.....they are there everyday like clock work.

Yesterday, as I was cleaning out my car, I noticed that there was someone going through the dumpster, and I thought it was odd for someone to be doing that in the afternoon....mostly they come at night or in the early morning. But I didn't give it much of a thought, and kept rounding up all the stray water bottles and pop cans that seem to breed in my car. When I took them out to the dumpster, I realized the person who was sorting through the garbage was an old old hispanic woman......she had on makeshift plastic gloves and was tearing into a garbage bag that she had dug out of the dumpster. I'm not sure how she even got into the dumpster, as she was very very short.....maybe 4 feet tall. Even I have to reach to throw something in......maybe she had a stool or something, I don't know. I asked her if she wanted my bottles, and she was most greatful....even though she spoke no English.

I'm not sure why I'm telling you this.....but it just struck me somehow. Here is this woman.....in her late 60's or even 70's maybe.....in a foreign country where she doesn't speak the language.....going through the garbage so she can make enough money to get by. I don't know whether to feel sad for her, or to look up to her......I think I feel a little bit of both.

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-06-26 - 12:02 a.m.

Yes, I know, I was going to post a great big long rant about the cable company tonight......but I have my Broadband back!! So I really can't complain. Somehow, after spending yet another hour on the phone with tech support....it all started working again...out of the blue. Even the tech person was suprised.....we didn't change any settings, we didn't do anything....and all of a sudden it was working again....yay!

So yeah, I know that's not very exciting for you guys....but it's thrilling for me....I'm surfing at high speed again!! Anyway....in lieu of something more interesting, I'll leave you with these pictures of the beach. I promise I'll try harder to post something tomorrow....really!

Goodnight everybody, Surf's Up!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.