Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2003-01-17 - 10:20 p.m.
Hey there! I'm finally back in San Fransisco....the land of DSL!! I promise I'll give you a great big post tomorrow and catch you up on all that's happend while I've been off line.....including being followed by the military (well, sort of!) But right now I'm going to go take a hot bath and go to bed (I've been driving for 9 hours....too tired to post!)

See you tomorrow everybody!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-01-15 - 10:37 p.m.
Hey there! Sorry I haven't been posting too consistently....but it's soooo hard to get internet out here!! Anyway, I'm off tomorrow.....headed back to the land of DSL and Broadband (and central heating)! Tomorrow night I'll be in Brookings, OR......and may or may not be able to get online....then back to San Fransisco and points south.

But stick with me, people.....there is much excitement on the way.......can you say, "Las Vegas"?!......can you say, "Rolling Stones"???!!! Stay tuned!!!!!!!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-01-13 - 10:48 p.m.
Every time I come back to Astoria, I feel overwhelmed with all the things that need to get done. This time we're finally going to get started on some of the construction/repair projects that I have been putting off for way too long. Of course, after I met with the contractor, I felt even more overwhelmed!! This old building is in need of a lot of love!

The first thing we're going to do is essentialy rebuild the whole back end of the building. We have been talking about this for some time, but now it's finally going to happen......and it really needs to be done! This would be really exciting....but it means I have to move almost everything out of the back of the building.....and that's where I live when I'm here! (Keep in mind that this is a warehouse/loft type building.) So my whole living room / kitchen / bathroom area will be in complete chaos for who knows how long! (And moving everything will be no small project either! I'd show you a picture....but my camera is still in the shop!!)

Anyway....that's all I've been doing today.....preparing for the *reconstruction*.....it sort of feels like I'm moving out. Hmmmmm......

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-01-12 - 10:58 p.m.
I feel so out of touch....I haven't been online at all since Friday! You people are all posting, posting, posting....my email is piling, piling, piling......and I'm just now trying to catch up on ultra slow dial up (31.2 kbps!!!!) Of course, this only means one thing.....I'm back in ASTORIA....where there's no DSL, no cable, and no central heating!!! (I can't wait to get back to California!)

So...I've been up in Seattle for the last couple of days....and I would have posted, since I had DSL, cable, and wireless access up there.....but I was too busy to take advantage of it....can you believe that!!? But we had a lot of fun.....we drove up to Seattle....met with my family....had dinner....opened Xmas presents....met with friends....had drinks until 1:30am....raided the mini bar until 2:00am or so....slept a few hours.....went back to my family's.....loaded software on my dad's computer....tried to teach him how to use it.....then drove over to Alan's family.....had dinner with both families....then drove all the way back to Astoria.....and got here in the middle of the night last night! And then, we actually opened the shop today! Oy! Too much for two days!!

Anyway.....the most fabulous thing I got for Xmas was a massage mat from Red Envelope.com. It is amazing! You can lay on it or just sit on it (drape it over a chair or couch), and it massages you all over......it can be adusted a million different ways.....so it hits just the right spot....just the right way! Mmmmmm! Everyone should buy one of these........it is positively orgasmic!

The interesting thing about it though....it doesn't seem to have a brand name. I looked everywhere....on the box, the paperwork, the mat itself.....no tags, no nothing! So maybe you can only get it from Red Envelope. It costs about $100, but it is sooooo worth it.....I highly recommend you get yourself one!

Well.....that's all I'm going to post tonight.....must go stock the fires now and crawl into bed! See you tomorrow everybody!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-01-10 - 12:23 a.m.
So I met with the reporter today. He was much younger than I expected him to be, and has only been in Astoria for about a year. That sort of caught me off guard....I had been expecting someone much older, and someone who had been around Astoria long enough to know all the gossip!

Anyway, it went quite well....he thanked me for being so candid. (Of course, now I'm worried that I was way too candid!!) But he did ask a lot of good questions, and it will be very interesting to see what he writes out of all of that (I'm afraid I probably overwhelmed him a bit)! The article should come out within the next few weeks......so stay tuned!

Other than that....I'm off to Seattle tomorrow to see the family....we haven't done Xmas yet! I'm not sure what kind of internet access I'm going to have.....so don't give up on me if you don't hear anything for a day or two! The last place we stayed, we were able to get online....but when we checked out they charged us $26!! (Yes, I know....read the fine print......but they didn't have any fine print!)

Well.....goodnight everybody......happy trails!!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-01-08 - 11:18 p.m.
So today I discovered that my rats have very expensive taste.....and are very clean. (I know, you're thinking, "What is she talking about?!") Let me explain. In Astoria, I have a big warehouse type building......and about once a year the rats decide that my building is the best place to hang out. (Which is not to say that I have a rat infested building....it's just that, every now and then, it's something everyone in Astoria has to deal with....rats like to hang out by the river and Astoria is on the river!) Fortunately, I don't have ANY rats right now.....but I've been away for a couple of months....and I see that they've been here.

The funny thing is, since I don't leave any food around when I'm gone.....they've now started eating my SOAP! And not just any soap.....they've chosen the most expensive soap I have! (Yes, I'm a spa product junkie....and I always have several exotic soaps laying around.) And they've run off with one of my wash mitts! Oy! Well....at least they have good taste!

Anyway....stay tuned tomorrow....I'm actually going to meet with that reporter who's doing a story on my shop! That should be interesting!

Goodnight everybody.....put another log on the fire for me!!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-01-08 - 12:18 a.m.
Hey there! We've finally arrived in Astoria....and it is freaking cold here!! Both inside and outside! I've got both woodstoves cookin'....but it's still freezin'! So I'm going to crawl under the electric blanket and hope there's a heat wave here tomorrow!!

Goodnight everybody...stay warm!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-01-06 - 11:01 p.m.
Well, hello from Rogue River, Oregon! Tonight we're staying at the Weasku Inn......and we are the ONLY people here! We have our own cabin by the river.....and the rest of the place is empty! (That's the one good thing about the off season!) Tomorrow we'll be moving on to Astoria....but I'd actually rather stay here! Here they have gas fireplaces....but in Astoria, I'm actually gonna have to chop wood....ugh!

See ya later everybody!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-01-05 - 10:39 p.m.
Alright....so last night was the big Disco Party. I'm usually super nervous about going to parties.....but then I get there and everything's fine (unless I end up drinking too much! but fortunately that didn't happen this time!). But because I was nervous.....once we got into the city I decided to stall a while. So we went to Neiman Marcus and ate the most wonderful food and had a few cocktails.....in preparation for the *Big Night.* Then we were off to the Holiday Inn!

Well, when we got there, we discovered that there were no glasses or cups for the champagne we brought....or for any of the beverages that people had brought.....so we immediately went on a cup run (which gave me another excuse to stall being at the party.....I don't know why I get the "party jitters"....but I always do!) Once we got back, we settled in and all was well.

Now here is where I should be writing about and linking to all the fabulous people who were there....but once again, I just got caught up in the party and forgot to take notes! Oops! (Gnome-girl has links to most everyone.....so go on over there and check out her links!) Anyway....everybody hung out at the hotel room for a while.....taking incriminating pictures and playing erotic dice games! Well....nothing erotic really happened.....but trust me, there were incriminating looking pictures! (There was one in particular of Dasheekee going down on Mikey.....but it was trick photography....I think! (not sure who has that photo....but I'm sure it will be posted somewhere!)

Then later, we went off to a bar called The Cellar where the music was pumpin and people were jumpin.....and you had to wait in line an hour to get a drink!! Actually....I didn't really mind how long it took to get a drink.....until mine fell over and poured all over me!!!! See, I had set it down on a bench beside me, and the music was pounding so loud that gradually, my drink just vibrated right off! Oy!

After we had another drink, we decided to head home since we were still sober enough to drive. Oh...and that reminds me....one of the questions we got asked the most was, "Where are you from?" Which is always a complicated topic with us....because we live in so many places! I'm sure that more than a few people were thoroughly confused about our whereabouts! So let me just write a brief explanation on that so you all will know:

Alan and I both originally lived in Seattle, WA.
Then I moved to Astoria, Oregon....and still have a place there.
When I lived in Oregon.....Alan lived in San Fransisco.....he still has a place there.
After we got together, he was transfered to Los Angeles.....and now we have a place together there.
So, we actually live in 3 places since we spend time at all of them.

And tomorrow we are off to Astoria.....which means I may or may not be posting for a couple of days.....but stay tuned....because I'm never away for long!

Goodnight everyone!

comments??? (7 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-01-01 - 10:17 p.m.
Well, tomorrow I make the big trek north.....first stop San Fransisco....then onward and upward to Astoria and then Seattle. So my posting might be a bit sparse here and there....(remember my last trip?! I couldn't get on line to save my soul! hopefully things will be better this time!) Oh....and of course, my digital camera is in the shop again! But don't give up on me entirely.....I'm sure there'll be stories to tell and cameras to borrow!

And I hope to see every single one of you at the big party this weekend! Don't tell me you're not going!! (If you need details on this event, just email me. Not that I know any details! But I can always make something up! Ha! Well, or I could give you my best guess as to where I'll be and we can coordinate.)

See ya later everybody!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-12-31 - 4:05 p.m.

Update on my Crooked Back:
I feel much better now....the result of a HOT bath, a codeine table, a nice glass of Knob Creek bourbon, and a good long sit in my car with the heated seat turned on! I think I will live.....I'm not quite as crooked now!

Happy New Year everybody!!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-12-31 - 1:02 p.m.

"There once was a crooked man
who walked a crooked mile
he lived in a crooked house
and had a crooked smile...."

So last night as I was bending down to feed the cat....something in my back went twwwannngggg~~~~~! And when I stood back up....I was all crooked and in pain! Well....I didn't actually know I was crooked....until I looked in the mirror and saw that I was S shaped!! OY....not good!

At that point I decided my best option would be to go to bed and hope that in the morning I would be all straightened out. Yeah right! I spent most of the night propping myself into various configuations.....using pillows in imaginative ways....all to no avail. There was no getting comfortable. Well, finally I did manage to drift off to sleep. But then I was woken up wayyy to early by the sound of a Xmas ornament shattering on the ground outside! Now that was really wrong! Couldn't they have waited until the afternoon to go outside and drop Xmas ornaments on the ground??? Why did they have to go and wake me up????!

Well, now that I'm awake....and cranky....and still crooked....I decide that the best possible thing would be to have a hot bath. A hot bath would be so soothing. So I run the bath while I make some breakfast.....and when I go back to check on the water...I find that it is COLD!!!! Nooooooo!!!!!!! The hot water tank has run out of hot water!!!

So now I'm sitting here.....crooked, cranky, cold, and in pain.....waiting, hoping that the hot water will come back.

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-12-30 - 10:30 p.m.

Hey Everybody! I'm going to be in the newspaper!!

The Daily Astorian.....the local paper in Astoria, Oregon....is going to do an article on my antique store up there. Now, to me this is kind of funny....but I don't know how to explain to you exactly why it's funny. It's sort of one of those "you had to have been there" kind of things. But I'll try.

So anyway, the article they're doing is for a column that's sort of a spotlight on small local businesses. And I've had a shop there for 11 years.....but I'm kind of like the "black sheep" of the family when it comes to Astoria business. To start with....I've never had regular hours....and a lot of people don't really like that. I used to run funny ads....advertising that I was "never open" and that the trademark of my shop was "weird stuff." My shop was/is clearly not like any other shop in Astoria. And of course, people in a small town like Astoria really don't like people who are "different".....like me. And now that I live in Los Angeles, I'm really never open! And NOW they want to do an article! Also....the reporter I talked to didn't seem to have a clue about my shop.....I don't think he has any idea of my history there (long story, won't go into that now)....or that I haven't been open in like FOREVER! But as luck would have it.....I'm actually driving up to Astoria next week.....so there's going to be a real sit down interview with pictures and everything.....woo hoo!

Well, I just think it's kind of funny.

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.