Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2002-11-09 - 12:47 a.m.
What a week this has been!! .......that's such a perfect sentence, I should just stop there and say goodnight.....but I won't. Today, we actually made the six hour drive back to San Fransisco (with the aid of a couple of pain pills....and me driving). I didn't think it was a good idea, but he insisted.....and it worked out fine. Of course, the reason we rushed back to San Fransisco is that we have tickets to The Rolling Stones! I bought the tickets months ago...but after the events of this week, I was sure we wouldn't be able to go. But, amazingly, here we are! The concert is tomorrow...so don't wait up for me to post anything......I'll fill you in on all the details Sunday.

Goodnight everybody.....all is well!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-11-07 - 9:08 p.m.
OK...the worst is finally over, I think. We are both home now....so far so good. Tomorrow I hope to be back to my regularly scheduled blogging....keep your fingers crossed! Again, thank you for all your good thoughts!!

Goodnight everybody!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-11-06 - 9:21 p.m.
Kidney Stone Update: Unfortunately, my Love had another flare up late last night...and actually had surgery today. I'm just back from the hospital and exhausted. It did not go smoothly....but I think everything is OK now. They're keeping him overnight to be sure.

Now I'm going to go have a STIFF drink and go to bed. Thank you all for your kind thoughts and concern!!

See you tomorrow everybody....

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-11-05 - 2:06 p.m.
OK....so here's what happened yesterday: In the morning, my Love was having some lower back pain. He was slightly concerned that it might be a kidney stone coming on.....but, ever the wishful thinker, he decided to take some pain pills and go back to bed....hopefully the pain would just go away.....hopefully it was not a kidney stone. And for most of the day, he was fine....the pain was constant but not severe. I decided to stop worrying and just let him rest, so I went to the beach. He was sleeping when I left.

Well....I had not been gone an hour when my cell phone rang. In a very weak voice, my Love said, "Come back from the beach, I have to get to a hospital." Now, to hear those words from a man who won't go to a doctor unless he's on his death bed.....is a little scary!! So I race back and find him in writhing pain with tears running down his face. Not good.

Of course, to complicate matters, there's been road work going on in front of our apartment for a couple of days.....and for most of yesterday, they weren't letting anybody go in or out of the parking garage. I wasn't really thinking about this as we went down to get in the car.....then one of our lovely neighbors comes up to us and starts yammering away about how we can't go out...that they aren't letting anyone drive there, etc., etc. Finally, I stop her and say, "Look...we have to get to a hospital.....I'm just going to drive out there!!!" I slam the car door....and we're off. Fortunately, they had just finished the section in front of our gate about 10 minutes before. You still weren't supposed to drive there, but I just went! Nobody stopped me....it was no problem.

Then there were the stop lights! I swear we missed every single stop light on the way. And I had to mind the speed limit....since we happened to get behind a police car part of the way! I'm sure it was only a 20 minute drive, but it seemed like and hour and 20 minutes. My poor Love in such horrible pain the whole time.

Finally, we arrive at the hospital.....where they have taken great pains to hide the Emergency Room. There's no where to park....I have to drop him off....I drop him off at the wrong place.....he can barely walk he's in sooo much pain.........I frantically look for parking......he limps to the real E.R.......I park....I find him.....we wait. And wait. And wait.

TWO HOURS LATER.....they finally give him some pain medicine! I thought I was going to die....it took soooo long. To see someone you love suffering in pain....and not be able to do anything about it......is truely hard to deal with. But when they did finally give him the pain meds.....everything was OK. It took all the pain away, and we could both relax.

And, yes, he did have a kidney stone. Basically, there's not much that they can do for kidney stones except give you pain meds and hope you pass it soon. If it gets really serious, they can do surgery or some other treatments.....but that is only as a last resort. We were a bit worried because the last time he had a kidney stone, he had to be in the hospital under heavy sedation for 7 days! Well.....it felt like we were there for 7 days, but really I think it was more like 7 hours. After much waiting around, they finally decided to just send him home with more pain meds. We got home around midnight.....and sometime after that he did pass the stone. He's pretty fine now....a bit weak and sore....but the worst is over. Thank you God!

There are sooo many things I want to write about the Emergency Room.....there are a lot of stories there. We were thankful that we didn't have any of the mystery illnesses that some of the people around us had. There was one woman who had been having diarrhea for 4 years and stomache pain since January (and a whole host of other problems)....when they asked her what made her decide to go to the Emergency Room now......she had no answer, other than she couldn't sleep the night before. They kept asking her all these questions.....and she had lived with sooo many problems for sooo long.....it was really strange.

Oh.....I could go on and on.....but I won't. Anyway....it was a long night....but we're OK. I'm going to go to the beach now......hopefully I won't get any phone calls this time!

comments??? (4 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-11-05 - 12:16 a.m.
Well I just got home from being at the hospital nearly all day and late into the night. Everything is OK now....but I'm too tired to post anything. Tomorrow I'll fill you in on all the details.

Goodnight everybody!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-11-02 - 11:59 p.m.

I have a fear of flying. You probably didn't know that because all my adventures on this blog so far, have involved car travel...(now you know...there's a reason for that!) So anyway, I was driving to the airport today....to pick up my Love.....and on the way out there, I passed by the Goodyear Blimp while it was landing. This is always a fascinating sight for me....I am in love with blimps (don't ask me why!) And this got me thinking about my fear of flying.

Strangely enough, I would rather go up in a blimp than fly on a plane. I mean, blimps just float up.....they don't require any mechanical parts moving at near super sonic speeds to get you off the ground. In an airplane, the takeoff is always the worst part for me.....it just doesn't seem like it would work! A blimp just seems more gentle....more logical. I can understand how a blimp gets off the ground.

So when I got home, I started doing some google searches about blimp rides. But, basically, unless you're a celebrity, radio personality, or beauty queen.....you can't get on a blimp. Not that I would ever go on a blimp, mind you. Do you really think a person with fear of flying would go up in something that might POP?!! No, of course not! I was looking for information purposes only (loosely translated that means: I was looking for something to blog!)

In all my searching, though, I did run across one interesting tidbit:
Uninflated, the Blimp weighs tens of thousands of pounds......but once it's filled with helium, it weighs less than 100 pounds!!

Somebody, get me some helium!!!!!

Goodnight everybody!

comments??? (7 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.