Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2002-04-05 - 11:05 p.m.
OK...so tomorrow is "No Hard Alcohol Day"...yes, I fell off the wagon...but tomorrow...really!!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-05 - 8:49 p.m.
Friday Five Update(from my boyfriend):

First of all, he would like you to know that he does not fly to San Francisco every weekend to "take care of his kids"....but to "spend time with his kids" (semantics, don't you think??)

Also, he would like you to know that the first thing I do in the morning is not "feed the cat"..........

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-05 - 2:22 p.m.
I was going to declare this "No Hard Alcohol Day"...I was only going to drink wine or champagne...but I just walked into the kitchen and saw the lovely Cognac I bought yesterday!! Does cognac count as hard alcohol??? I mean it is made from grapes...it says on the label Grand Champagne Cognac....

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-05 - 12:59 p.m.
THE FRIDAY FIVE

1. What are the first things that you do in the morning to start your day?I get up and feed the cat(and this is important, the cat must be fed before doing anything else, or she will make such a fuss...meow, meow, meow...) then I start some water boiling for instant espresso and check my email. If it's a week day, I'll watch The View while I have my coffee and yogurt, if it's a weekend, I'll surf the internet while I have coffee and yogurt. Then I take a bath, brush my teeth, and put makeup on.

2. What are the last things that you do at night before going to bed? I always take a bath and wash my makeup off (if I don't do this I look and feel evil in the morning.)

3. What daily routine have you recently added to your day? Tinkering with this website.

4. What routine do you wish you get rid of? Well...I wish I could get rid someone else's routine!! My boyfriend flies up to San Francisco every weekend to take care of his kids...I wish he didn't have this ritual so he could stay here on weekends and take care of me (I know, I know, that's sooo selfish) But of my many routines...I guess I wish I could get rid of any routines that I feel obligated to do....like working out....or changing the cat box.

5. What's the one thing that makes you feel like something is missing if you don't do it some point within your day? If I can't take a bath I just feel un-right. I mean, a shower just won't do it for me....like if I'm staying at a motel that only has a shower, no bathtub, after a couple days of that, I just start feeling really wrong. I start getting desperate for a bathtub...I start looking in the phone book for spas or hot tub places. I need to be submersed in water....I have to have a bath!!!!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-05 - 12:35 a.m.
Don't order these chocolates unless you plan to eat them all!!...They were soooo.....Orgasmic!!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-04 - 9:15 p.m.
People...remember that when you live in an apartment building...everyone can hear everything you say through the vents in the bathroom! Recently overheard (obviously a telephone conversation):

"So what part are you playing?!

That's a really big part, dude!

So what part does Cruise have?

Way to go dude! I'm really happy for you!!"

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-04 - 8:46 p.m.
Ok...the comments page is evolving...if you left comments before...you might want to go back and look....now the comments show your name and a link to your URL...if you just put in your email...it shows a link that says NONE, which clicks back to diaryland.....I'm working on that. But a big Thank You! to every one who left comments....especially to those whose comments got deleted in the name of progress!!! (Oops!) Just keep talking to me!!! Thanks!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-04 - 3:47 p.m.
I have noticed a phenomena lately when I ask someone a question, they will start talking and answering my question, but without turning to acknowledge me....and they talk in such a way, that I can't really be sure they are talking to me or someone else. It's a little difficult to describe the nuance of this....but I find it disconcerting.

Something similar to this happened to me again, just a few minutes ago. I was at a wine shop, and the clerk who was ringing my order inadvertently forgot to ring up one of the bottles. Well, I was out the door and halfway down the street when I heard someone say "Exuse me!!" in a way that I was sure I had done something wrong...so I turned around and there was this big burley guy at the door of the shop saying something that I couldn't quite hear, so I started walking back towards him....but as he spoke, I wasn't sure he was talking to me at all...he was sort of turned away from me. So I went up to him and said "I'm sorry, were you talking to me?" And without ever turning to look at me, and in a kind of mumble he says "you left a bottle inside"...but he was turned towards someone else as he said this, so I still was not quite sure if he was talking to me or the other guy. Anyway...it turned out he was talking to me....but his whole manner made me feel uncomfortable.

Am I just paranoid here??!? I find people doing this more and more. I feel like I'm a ghost or something...

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-04 - 11:20 a.m.
Yesterday was a fabulous day for beach combing...it was one of those days where the beach was covered in shells and rocks and all that stuff that washes up after a storm. And I had it all to myself because it was cloudy and windy....too cold for Californians (but like summer to someone from Oregon!) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-03 - 11:29 p.m.
This is too funny (I got this from jish.nu)....have you seen Jack Schitt??

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-03 - 9:14 p.m.
As promised...I now have clickable links and comments...Woo Hoo!! I have gone back and changed all those things I could find that you should have been able to click on, but that I was politely suggesting you should enter manually. I am just sooo demanding. But now on my site, you can surf like a couch potato!!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-03 - 8:17 p.m.
OK...so I have added a link for comments at the bottom of each entry....it seems to work, but is a bit rough at the moment....I think there are a few bugs that need to be worked out...and also I need to tinker with the look of it a bit. But don't let that scare you...leave me some comments!!!!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-03 - 7:36 p.m.
Yay!! We got the new fridge today!...but only through sheer brut force. When it arrived it was accompanied by the contractor, the manager, and six construction workers...which was a good thing because we needed most of them to get the thing into place! There was plenty of space where the old fridge once stood, but it was a matter of getting this huge new one through the corridor into that space. Everybody was like "Oh no! Oh no! It's not going to fit!!" But after much maneuvering...and I mean much maneuvering...(at one point, one of the construction workers was stuck between it and the wall) we finally made it work....YAY!! Chill!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-03 - 12:37 p.m.
My Poem Tag has been posted at The Poem Tag Project!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-02 - 6:25 p.m.
Well...the latest update is no fridge until tomorrow. The contractor says he actually has it, but forgot all about bringing it today. He promises tomorrow at 10am. Keep your fingers crossed. Also tomorrow, I'll be making some changes to this site...such as, you'll be able to comment on each individual entry...woo hoo!! I also hope to have clickable links working tomorrow...we'll see....until then, stay tuned.....

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-01 - 7:42 p.m.
The Beverly Hills Hotel on LSD:

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-01 - 7:31 p.m.
Do I use too many exclamation points?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-04-01 - 7:27 p.m.
One day, Beverly Hills Hotel....next day, frozen food! Tonight Chef Akasha's Frozen Entrees...Penne al Forno Casserole, with soy Bolognese Sauce. Just like the Beverly Hills...only cheaper!! (and less calories, I'm sure!)

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-31 - 5:36 p.m.
Happy Easter! Brunch at The Beverly Hills hotel was, as always, fabulous! If you are ever in Los Angeles, you must make a pilgrimage there....even if it's just for drinks. And go to the Polo Lounge, not just the coffee shop. It is the place to see and be seen...the food is exquisite...the atmosphere sooo elegant and gracious....you feel like you're worth a million dollars....even when you're broke!

This was not a buffet brunch, but a prix fix menu...three courses of your choice for $62. I had the most wonderful spicy chicken potstickers for an appetizer...followed by scrambled eggs with Scottish smoked salmon, caviar and creme fraiche...and for dessert the most amazing mousse with raspberries and chocolate that looked like a little work of art.

You have to go there!!!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-30 - 7:58 p.m.
Easter Brunch at the Beverly Hills Hotel....I can't wait!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-29 - 10:50 a.m.
THE FRIDAY FIVE

1. If you could eat dinner with and "get to know" one famous person (living or dead), who would you choose? Barbara Walters.

2. Has the death of a famous person ever had an effect on you? Who was it and how did you feel? I think any time a famous person dies it affects me a little bit....because no matter how much one tries to deny death, that makes you think about it. And there have been some that affected me more deeply for different reasons at different times.

3. If you could BE a famous person for 24 hours, who would you choose? Mic Jagger. Because it would be interesting to look at life through his eyes. Also because I always though it would be interesting to be a man for a day....and how interesting to be a male rock star...with women every where wanting you!

4. Do people ever tell you that you look like someone famous? Who? No...people don't tell me I look like anyone famous. But when I go to restaurants in Hollywood or Beverly Hills and I wear my sunglasses, people stare at me like they think I'm famous!

5. Have you ever met anyone famous? I've met a few famous people...usually just said hello to them or been in the same room. The only celebrity that I could call an acquaintance, who might remember me, is Gus Van Sant.

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-28 - 4:28 p.m.
Time for a photo break. Here is our couch...we actually found it on the freeway....really!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-28 - 4:16 p.m.
Word on the street is the new fridge will be here on Tuesday...yay!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-28 - 12:11 p.m.
Oh...and I almost forgot! Check out my "eyes" in The Eye Project

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-28 - 12:04 p.m.
Here's an update on the refridgerator...the contractor who's renovating the building got wind of my plight, and says he can get me a 22 cubic foot Frigidaire with glass shelves for $490 delivered. So it's bigger than the one I found at Best Buy and the overall cost (including shipping and tax) is cheaper. So now we're waiting on the contractor to make it happen. Keep your fingers crossed!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-28 - 11:58 a.m.
You absolutely must go see Elftor...

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-27 - 5:33 p.m.

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-26 - 3:47 p.m.
Yay! We won in court...well, sort of...we got back all but $300 of our $2100 deposit. It came down to he said/she said....basically, the landlord said we had made a verbal agreement to stay past the end of the lease....we said we had never agreed to anything like that. The judge sided with us, saying that the landlord needed to get these things in writing. But because of the "miscommunication" he gave her a token $300. Anyway, it's finally over! And we got most of our money back...yay!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-26 - 11:24 a.m.
The photo I posted last night is a view of the back deck at the place we used to live. It's funny that when we first moved there I thought "it doesn't get any better than this"....now I'm sooo glad we moved away! Today we are meeting our former landlord in court in hopes of getting our deposit back...Ugh!

I'll let you know what happens...

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-26 - 12:01 a.m.
Photo of the day....lived here...done that....moved up the street....

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-25 - 11:22 p.m.
Spam and a half!!!! If any of you out there receive email from Vanessa Lintner telling you that your website has not been listed in enough search engines...that is spam, spam, spam, spam, spam!!!!! That email was sent to me and several people who posted notes or signed my guest book. I can't tell you how infuriating this is to me! It's one thing to spam me, but to then also spam the people who took the time to post on my site...UGH!! If you get anything from Vanessa Lintner, delete it!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-25 - 3:55 p.m.
I'm in the middle of a taste test....Bombay Sapphire seems sweeter...Tanqueray seems more herbal...I still can't decide....anyone care to weigh in on this???

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-25 - 3:26 p.m.
I had to go to Costco and Home Depot today...and amazingly, I lived to tell about it, but all I've got to say is...people are weird!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-24 - 11:30 a.m.

" When we ask advice, we are usually looking for an accomplice. "

-Joseph Louis Lagrange

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-23 - 11:49 p.m.
Well...I actually have been getting a few hits a day to my website....and I got one note today!!!!!! I was sooo excited.....it's funny....all my life I have been so shy and anti-social....but here I am trying so hard to seek out people to see my weblog...these are social skills I should have learned long ago! Isn't it interesting that it is soooo much easier to seek out interaction on the internet than in real life, person to person.....better than the phone. Amazingly, I met my love over the internet....well, we had known each other as acquaintances for many years...but we would never have got together if it wasn't for the internet, and email.

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-23 - 8:27 p.m.
Today I went shopping for a new fridge...did you know that there are exactly two hundred fifty thousand different types of refridgerator?!?!? OK...that's not exactly true...but it sure seems like it....I went to Costco, Sears, and BestBuy...as well as comparison shopping on the internet, and they all seem almost exactly alike! But I think I've finally settled on a Roper/Whirlpool 20.9 cubic feet, 514kw, at BestBuy for $439 after rebate, plus shipping and tax. I'm out of breath just typing all that...LOL.....but it does seem like the best value....I think!

Well...if I actually get it...I'll give you an update.

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-22 - 8:28 p.m.
Check out The Poem Tag Project.....here is my poem tag!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-22 - 11:36 a.m.
Here it is....my first FRIDAY FIVE!!

1. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE TIME OF THE YEAR?

When I'm in Oregon, summer is most definitely my favorite time...but there, summer is only for one week! When I'm in Los Angeles, just about anytime is my favorite time. I guess I'd have to say overall, my favorite time of the year is when it's sunny.

2. WHAT IS IT ABOUT YOUR FAVORITE SEASON THAT, WELL, MAKES IT YOUR FAVORITE SEASON?

It's sunny and it stays light until 9pm

3. WHAT IS YOUR LEAST FAVORITE TIME OF THE YEAR? WHY?

Winter in Oregon!! Because it's cold and wet and windy...and every year I'm sure my building is not going to make it through the next storm. But my least favorite time of the year in L.A. is only when it's smoggy.

4. DO YOU DO ANYTHING TO CELEBRATE OR RECOGNIZE THE CHANGING OF SEASONS?

I remember once, when I lived in Seattle, there was this day that I could feel summer coming on and I had such a joyous feeling...and a burning desire to make lemonaide! LOL! So I went out and bought a very summery looking pitcher and some lemons and made some! Other than that the only thing I do to recognize the changing seasons is to fret a lot when I feel winter coming.

5. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE THING TO DO OUTSIDE?

Go to the beach!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-21 - 7:33 p.m.
Wow...looking back on today's entries...most of them seem to be ranting...sorry! It's been one of those days. Ugh!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-21 - 7:18 p.m.
Check out this page www.diarist.net/guide/blogjournal.shtml I think they have an elitist attitude about web diaries/webjournals/weblogs....I think the whole concept is constantly evolving and that it is a great form of personal expression and no matter what you call it. To try to be a purist and say that a "weblog" is specifically different from a "webjournal" or heaven forbid a "webdiary"....I think that is a websnobbery (or should I say "blogsnobbery")!! Let me know what you think.

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-21 - 3:24 p.m.
Does anyone elso out there feel that it's the virus protection companies who are sending out the viruses???? I've just spent yet another long day battling viruses, updating software, and scannning, scanning, scanning! Ugh! I prefer to call it VirusScam Online!!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-03-21 - 12:35 p.m.
Well...now that I've got this sort of set up, I suppose I should actually write something! So I'll begin by telling you how I came up with the name for this website "DogsDon'tPurr". I'm a cat person..the only pets I grew up with were cats, and I never really spent any time with dogs. But a few years ago, one of my best friends had a dog, Rocco, that I got fairly attached to. One day I was petting him and thinking "this dog doesn't purr..." (I'm a cat person, OK??)...but then it was like DUH!! Dogs don't purr!! As I was contemplating this epiphany...it suddenly came to me (another epiphany!)...that this would be a great title for something. Of course, at the time I was aspiring to be a writer...but, I never did write anything, and over the years the title just played in my head. But then, two days ago when I decided to do this weblog...the title came back to me (yet another epiphany!!)...so finally "Dogs Don't Purr" has a home. There you have it. To learn other tidbits...roll down to the bottom of this page and click on "about me"....I will be updating that page once a week so keep checking back.....thanks!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.