Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2002-05-11 - 9:28 p.m.

Happy pre-Mother's Day! Tonight my parents arrived after driving 1200 miles from Seattle, WA...to spend Mother's Day with us in Los Angeles, CA. Well....actually, I should say they drove 1200 miles to go to brunch at The Beverly Hills Hotel. And I say this because, if you knew my parents, you would say "What?!?!?!!!" You would not be troubled by the fact that they drove 1200 miles to see me....driving is in our blood....no distance is too far to just spend a day with someone....we love to drive....if you knew them you would know that....but!.... you would be troubled that they drove all this way to go to brunch at The Beverly Hills Hotel. Let me explain....

My parents usually shy away from anything "high end"....or that they might perceive to be "pricey" or "snooty". Their favorite restaurant is The Outback....and I'm not saying anything bad about this restaurant...they actually do some good food....but it's not like going to The Beverly Hills Hotel....if you know what I mean. And, once, I gave them a gift certificate for Canlis (it's sort of on the same level as The Beverly Hills), but they gave it back to me, saying they wouldn't feel comfortable there. (and that's another long story...but I won't go into that just now). Anyway....you get the idea...they don't feel comfortable...they don't know what to do....etc.

Well....you know me....The Beverly Hills Hotel is my kind of place!! No...I don't like snooty!, but I do like to partake in the finer things in life when ever I can. And I've found that really you can do this...even on little money...you can just go have a drink at places like this and soak up the atmosphere. And who knows...in L.A...you might just get discovered! (uh huh!).......and sometimes you do the splurge and have a meal at these places and it's worth it. Life should not be about holding back.

OK....so I never hold back! And one night after not holding back!!!....I email my Dad and say we should take Mom out for brunch at The Beverly Hills Hotel on Mother's Day. Of course, I thought he would poo poo the idea....I mean, it's $62 per person!!! But he called me up and said "make the reservation". I nearly fell over!!! So you see, now I'm feeling really nervous...tomorrow's the day ...and they're here....and ......HELP! (Now, this is a subject that should take much longer....but I think the real reason my Dad said "yes" to the The Beverly Hills, is that he had a heart attack last year and now wants to experience life in a way that he never has. And I applaud this idea greatly....I may expand on this later)

Originally I was going to talk about what I was going to order....but I got side tracked. So you should go to their site and find the menu. They make you search for it a bit...I couldn't find a link directly to the menu. (if you go to "happenings" and click on "Mother's Day Brunch"...I think that gets you there)....tell me what you would order....that would be fun...I'll even post it with links if you would like.

See you tomorrow....after the brunch!!!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.