Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2012-09-11 - 5:38 p.m.
I rarely enter contests or play along with internet memes, but the prize on this one totally hooked me. For details, scroll down to my previous post or click here to go directly to Yabu's contest.

My entry for today is: Eggs in a Cloud

This is super simple: just slice up some hard boiled eggs, cover them with fresh grated Parmesan cheese, a little fresh ground pepper....and Boom! you're done.

I used to just put salt and pepper on my eggs. But I'm lazy, and guessing just how much salt is the right amount, and getting it evenly distributed....screw that! So I switched to Parmesan. I looove Parmesan....but you need to buy it by the wedge and grate it super fine for the best results.

Serve this up with a glass of chilled champagne and you're ready to go!

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2012-09-09 - 4:40 p.m.
"NATIONAL IRRITATE A FOOD PIC HATER FOOD PIC POSTING WEEK�
( or NIAFPHFPPW for short)

So my friends Yabu and Laura have come up with this meme/contest because apparently there are people who complain when bloggers post food pics. So we food picture posters are going to protest the protesters by posting pics of food. (Try saying that five times fast!)

And as if that was not enough, Yabu is offering a lovely piece of stained glass to the winner of this contest. (I'm not sure how the winner will be chosen, but I'm guessing it's a random thing.) The point is to have some fun...but Yabu's lady does make some double damn fine stained glass....so I'm definitely in on this baby.
So, without further ado, here is my entry:

Hot Prosciutto, Turkey, and Cheddar on Multi Grain/Seed Bread

Now, when I'm not feeling lazy, I toast the bread a bit, then put the cheese on and toast it some more, then I layer on the meat and toast it till everything is hot and the cheese is melted. This results in a crispy sandwich.

But when I'm lazy, I just slap that stuff together and nuke it for 60 seconds. This results in a soft sandwich. (as shown above)

But now here's the trick. Cooked either way, the sandwich will go soggy on your plate because it's hot and steam builds up between the bread and the plate. So THAT is why I have my sandwich perched on end! That way, neither side is touching the plate while the bread cools...it doesn't get soggy! (Another trick is to have your cheese placed throughout your sandwich so that as it melts, it holds your sandwich together and you can stand it up on end.)

This is also the secret to perfect toast. Have you ever seen those little silver toast holders? Google it, and you'll see. They keep the bread from touching the plate and you end up with perfectly crispy toast!

Bon Appetit!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.