Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2008-05-07 - 12:57 a.m.
Sometimes your Love says something that is completely endearing to you, but probably means absolutely nothing to anyone else.

Tonight, as he walked by the cat, who was playing with a feather toy, he said: "Oh! I see you are playing with your tassel!"

I don't know why, but the word *tassel*...and the way he said it, just made me melt.

Silly.

comments??? (0 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2008-05-05 - 5:22 p.m.
1. Today as I drove home from the Dr.'s office, I drove through one whole block that was strewn with panties. It was as if someone had tossed them out their car window.

2. Pet Peeves about Kaiser Permanente, my health care provider:
a. They say can't get my past lab results from the Kaiser in northern California. I have to go there myself and then hand deliver them back (800 miles round trip).
b. The Chief of Orthopedics couldn't find my Xrays. Even though the Xray department is just down the hall. (But I think he was just lazy.)
c. The mammography department *actually* had hard copies of my mammogram and ultrasound from one year ago from the hospital in norther California.
d. Why can't all departments do this????

3. Good news: I don't have cancer.

4. Bad news: nobody can figure out what's wrong with my feet.

5. Five doctors, tons of tests, and gallons of blood behind me. Two more doctors and a nerve test ahead of me.

6. Will I ever finish my post about Vegas? Probably not. So I'll sum it up by saying that Barbara Eden (I Dream of Genie) was sitting across from us at a restaurant we were at. She was so old and distorted that I didn't recognize her. It was not until the next day that someone in our group told us that he *had* recognized her and actually went up to talk to her. Dang!!!! If only I had known!!!! That was my most favorite show when I was a kid. I soooooo would have liked to talk to her and get her autograph. But it was not to be. (I'm sure there is more to tell about the Vegas trip....oh, maybe the water quality thing....but I can't remember anything now. Argh. But I will try and post about water quality, because that's kinda fun. Stay tuned. Really!)

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2008-04-28 - 11:42 p.m.
So what did I do to deserve this?!

I haven't written in a long time because I have been mired down in a bunch of health problems. I didn't really want to write about it because I thought it would all go away (and I try to keep this blog sort of positive and fun.) But now everything seems to be snowballing. So I guess I better update you all so it doesn't look like I've fallen off the earth.

About a year ago, my feet started going numb. It started with my toes and is working it's way now up into my ankles. It's weird. My feet feel like they are on novocaine, but yet they are super sensitive at the same time. A lot of the time, it feels like I am standing in lava. As this progresses, they are getting stiffer and and more painful.

So far, the diagnosis is idiopathic peripheral neuropathy. Which means: "We don't know why your feet hurt." Ususally people who are diabetic get this, but so far, I am not diabetic. I have had multiple tests, given gallons of blood and urine, but as of yet, nobody can tell me what's wrong with my feet.

Oddly, during all these tests, it was discovered that I have some sort of markers in my blood for three different types of cancer. Yay! So over the last few weeks, I have been seeing many different types of doctors and giving yet more blood, etc. Ack.

The latest test was a bone marrow biopsy. What can I say about this test!? It's like having a 3/8 inch hand drill, drilled into the bone of your hip. EXTREMELY PAINFUL. They take out a piece of your bone and suck out the marrow. Sounds comfy, no? NO! OMG. This was one of the most painful things I've ever had happen to me. (And I've had 7 surgeries thus far, not to mention numerous knee dislocations, etc.) OMG.

And on top of that, I'm still recovering from my fall last month (tripped over the cat! Oy!), tearing the carilage in my knee.

Do I have bad karma or what?! So basically, I have been wallowing in the haze of vicodin and depression, lying on the couch or dreamily surfing the internet, hoping that someday I will feel healthy again. In the mean time, I keep waiting on test results to tell me I have something other than the undefinable answers that I keep getting from my doctors. One doctor wants me to start on chemo~therapy, yet he still can't tell me what's wrong with me. I said NO!

Oy...I ramble. But that's what's up with me right now. And I don't even know what's up! Stay tuned. I have another Dr's appointment Wednedsay. If I'm still alive, maybe I'll post something.

comments??? (6 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2008-04-22 - 10:53 p.m.
Hello everyone. I know you are all waiting with baited breath for my next amazing post, but we must interrupt our regularly scheduled programming for this emergency broadcast announcement:

HELP!!!....my email address has been hijacked!!!!!!!

Yes I know this happens, and it happened to me once before, but I can't remember how to make it stop. MAKE IT STOP!!! Do I just wait this out? Will changing my password help? (I think I did that last time but with no luck.)

Anyway, if you're getting some weird spam from me....IT'S NOT ME! And if you have any ideas on what to do, please leave a comment. Thanks!

Our regularly scheduled programming will begin again....soon....maybe. Stay tuned.

comments??? (5 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2008-04-08 - 10:42 p.m.

I'm back! Can you believe it?! I'm still alive. But I've been a bit overwhelmed with my knee injury, a little too depressed and medicated to feel like blogging.....but I'm back....at least for a few minutes. But let's start where I left off (if I can remember everything!)

So every year we head out to the ShoWest convention in Vegas because that's the industry that my Love works in. Usually, we make the travel arrangements for ourselves, but this year we weren't in charge of making the plans. Ergo: the begining of the end. Let's see if I can spell this whole trip out in any kind of concise yet entertaining way.

Day 1. We decide that rather than driving straight to Las Vegas on the first day of the convention, we'll leave a day early and stay in Primm. This means we don't have to rush, we can have some fun, and then check into our company paid for "hotel" in Vegas early the next day to get a good start on things.

So we drive from L.A. to Primm and stay at Whiskey Pete's (can't seem to find a direct website for them, but google, and you'll find some references). It's $22/night and just on the Nevada border. It seemed a little tacky, but little did we know, this was probably the best part of our trip!

Day 2. We pack up and get ready to leave, just as Alan is starting to get sick....with stomach flu like symptoms. Hmmm. Foreboding.

We drive to Vegas and arrive at our company paid for "hotel" which we find is miles off the Strip and no where near the convention. Alan is getting sicker.

Due to miscommunication from the company to the "hotel" which is actually a fleabag "motel" we cannot check in. We sit in the car for over FOUR HOURS!!!! During which time, we actually consider calling 911 due to how sick Alan is getting (heart issues, vomiting, etc.) Fortunately, he did recover later.

Argh. Finally, after waiting alllllll day we check in. There's no WiFi, no cell phone signal. And the place is like some poor white trash apartment. I decide to take matters into my own hands.

EVERYTHING in Vegas is either booked or twelve million dollars a night. I don't care. We are getting out of here!!!! Finally, I find a room at the Excaliber. It costs only a million dollars but I decide to eat it. I didn't drive all this way to be miles away from everything in a shitty motel with no internet!!!!

(Hey, but before you judge me on this, I'm perfectly comfortable staying in cheapo motels, I usually embrace them....it's just that the whole circumstances here rubbed me wrong. There's more to this story that is not my place to tell...company politics, etc. It was just very frustrating.)

Day 3. Alan heads off to the convention with the others, I stay behind and pack up to check out. I really should have been blogging this as it happend. There are so many little silly details that you probably just would have loved.

So now, packed up (no small chore with no elevator and me with a gimpy knee), I get to the Excaliber. I amazingly sneak my cat in (we take the cat everywhere) even though I have to go through two security checks and actually have to ask a guard for directions!

Hit the room and order room service, baby! Eggs Benedict, hashbrowns, toast, butter, marmalade, juice, and who knows what else....I ordered EVERYTHING!

Sleep.

Most of the rest is a blurr. I will post one more post about this, then move on to my knee debacle. Stay tuned. I may have more photos and a story about a ghost town....oh, and Barbara Eden. But I think this is enough for now.....don't you? Oh, and I can't forget to tell you about the water quality tests we did. I'm not so sure it's good to drink water that gives your tester the "Frowny Face."

comments??? (4 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2008-03-24 - 1:27 a.m.

Alright already! For those two of you who have been nagging me to post something...here you go! A photo! And if you look real hard, that little black speck in the background behind the sign is my car. You don't really realize the scale of these things when you're zipping down the road at 80+ mph. Once I pulled over, I had to walk like ten miles back just to get a snap of this sign.

But now, since I'm lazy, I'm going to leave you hanging here. Stay tuned for a future post about our crazy Las Vegas trip, why you probably don't want to know the quality of the water you're drinking, and how I ended up going to the emergency room after falling off a barstool (Ok, it wasn't a barstool, but I am currently gimping around in a full length splint.) Stories to come, but for now be satisfied by the Zzyzx.

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.