Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2007-07-04 - 2:24 p.m.
There are a couple of oil refineries near where I live, and on the first Wednesday of each month, they test their warning sirens. They're a little goofy about it. Sometimes it's just a short little whoop, but other times it goes on for so long that you begin to wonder if it's for real this time. Today was one of those days. Only this time, the sirens were accompanied by the loud explosions of huge fireworks going off......sounding exactly like you might imagine an oil refinery explosion would. The timing on this was undoubtely meticulously planned by one of our neighborhood pyromaniacs.

Our neighborhood has been particularly festive with the fireworks this year. And we're talking BIG fireworks.... M-80's and the like. Probably bigger. I'm not really up on what makes the huge exposions that can be heard from miles away. And it's amazing how many people have been lighting up the night sky with displays that could rival a small town 4th of July extravaganza!

They started early last week with bombs and rockets going off here and there, gradually building up to now, when they're practically going off non stop. Bombs and rockets and the sound of gunfire. (Actually, in this neighborhood, it really could be gunfire.) And I was thinking about how we just take this for granted and know it's just fireworks. It's all fun and celebration. But what if you lived in Iraq or in any other country where those sounds really were bombs? If you think of it like that, it takes on a whole different scary feeling. Imagine living like that. Wondering how close that bomb came to your house.....then waiting for the next one.

I'm not really sure where I'm going with this post. I guess, without trying to be political at all, I'm just saying that instead of celebrating what we have, it's important to think about it from the other side.

Anyway.....Happy 4th everybody!! Don't go blow your fingers off or anything. And don't aim those rockets at me!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.