Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2007-06-15 - 1:06 p.m.
I'm not sure quite where this started, but I know that Erica is responsible in some way. And now all the cool kids are doing it.

And you know, if all the cool kids are doing it.....

So here you go, the LALOLKADRYKY meme:

WERE YOU NAMED AFTER ANYONE? Yes! Back in the day, my Mom lived up the street from a tiny little market on Green Lake in Seattle. Some of my earliest memories are of going there to buy penny candy and pop in bottles before going to the wading pool or the beach at the lake. The woman who owned the place was named Marcie and she had 10 kids. My Mom loved this woman because she was so sweet and had such a big family....and so I am named after her. Ironically, I have never ever wanted to have kids, so perhaps my Mom's choice for a namesake didn't pan out all that well.

Additionally, legend has it that my middle name, Lynn, is that of my Dad's favorite girlfriend ever. I'm sure there must be some stories I'm missing out on there. Go figure!

WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU CRIED? The day before yesterday. I spoke with my parents just after they had returned from putting flowers on my Grandparent's grave. It's been seven years since my Grandmother passed, and 45 years since my Grandfather passed. They both passed on June 13. I alway remember my Grandmother on her birthday, but the day of her death I have sort of tucked away. So I wasn't prepared when my Mom said they had just been to the grave.

DO YOU LIKE YOUR HANDWRITING? I used to, but now that I use the computer all the time, my handwriting has really disintegrated. I totally envy people who have beautifully symetrical or stylized handwriting....architects, cartoonists, and the like....also, people who can do calligraphy or any type of hand lettering for signs and banners. I used to do a little of that for extra income, but I'm wayyy out of practice now.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE LUNCH MEAT? If it's a sandwich I'm making myself, then it's usually turkey or roast beef. If I'm eating out I like to try all different things. But if nothing looks particularly interesting, I usually fall back on a club sandwich or French dip.

DO YOU HAVE KIDS? Heck no! But Alan has two kids age 12 and14. Oy!

IF YOU WERE ANOTHER PERSON WOULD YOU BE FRIENDS WITH YOU? I would hope so, but a lot of people think I come off as aloof or snooty when really I'm just shy at first. I can be a little awkard and quiet until I get to know you....but then, all hell breaks loose! I think I would be intrigued to get to know me.

DO YOU USE SARCASM A LOT? My mom and my sister used to complain that my Dad and I were always being too sarcastic. But now when my Dad is sarcastic with me, I can kind of see what they mean. So I guess there is a fine line between fun sarcasm and irritating sarcasm. I'm not sure where I fall in that department.

DO YOU STILL HAVE YOUR TONSILS? Yes.

WOULD YOU BUNGEE JUMP? Eeek no!. Fear of heights! Fear of dangling!

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE CEREAL? I don't really eat cereal that much any more. If I do it's something heathy and whole grain with vitamins and fiber....then I make it all good by pouring in chocolate soy milk or dousing it with real maple syrup! As a kid, my favorite cereals were Frosted Flakes and Quisp. Do they even make Quisp anymore?

DO YOU UNTIE YOUR SHOES WHEN YOU TAKE THEM OFF? 99.9999 percent of the time, I wear flip flops. If I am wearing shoes with laces, they're usually work boots that are impossible to take off without undoing the laces.

DO YOU THINK YOU ARE STRONG? Not as strong as I would like to be...both physically and mentally. But when push comes to shove.....watch out!


WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE ICE CREAM? Baskin and Robins chocolate chip mint. But it's been years since I've had it, so maybe I wouldn't think it's as good now. Also, I'm lactose intolerant now, so I can't eat it anymore. Sometimes memories are better than the real thing!

WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU NOTICE ABOUT PEOPLE? Usually weird little quirky mannerisms or personality traits. Or I see similarities between them and people I know or similarities with famous people.

RED OR PINK? Black. If not black, then red.


WHAT IS THE LEAST FAVORITE THING ABOUT YOURSELF? Obsession and procrastintion. Those two things do not mix!

WHO DO YOU MISS THE MOST? I miss my cat who died over Xmas and had been with me over half my life. I also miss my Grandfather....who I never met. He died before I was born, but from the stories I've heard about him, I really wish I could have known him. He was a very loved and important member of our family.

WHAT COLOR PANTS AND SHOES ARE YOU WEARING? No pants, no shoes!

WHAT WAS THE LAST THING YOU ATE? A half a sandwich of whole wheat bread, turkey, avocado, and soy cream cheese.


WHAT ARE YOU LISTENING TO RIGHT NOW? I can hear the neighbor's dog barking, a few kids walking down the street, the freeway, sometimes a rooster, and every now and then I can hear the BART train go by, way off in the distance.


IF YOU WHERE A CRAYON, WHAT COLOR WOULD YOU BE? Midnight Blue.


FAVORITE SMELLS? My sense of smell is messed up these days due to sinus problem/surgery. But back in the day, I loved the smell of bacon frying and coffee brewing outside at a campsite in the early morning. (That answer will probably surprise the people who know me the best, because I am NOT a morning person!)


WHO WAS THE LAST PERSON YOU TALKED TO ON THE PHONE? My Dad.


FAVORITE SPORTS TO WATCH? Iron Chef on Food Network. That's a sport, right?


HAIR COLOR[S]? Jet Black right now. Original color reddish blonde, now suspected of turning gray.


EYE COLOR? I've always been told my eyes are Hazel. But after looking up that definition, I think it's way off. To me they seem blue, but change like the color of the ocean.

DO YOU WEAR CONTACTS? I just got glasses and contacts. I thought I'd wear the contacts more, but I've turned out to be way too lazy.


FAVORITE FOOD? Pizza! Unfortunatley, because I'm lactose intolerant, real pizza is now off the list. But I have learned to make some pretty good substitues with with soy cheeze, a little olive oil, some garlic, etc. But of the foods I can eat, I'd say a French dip made with meat that is sliced delicately thin, a cup of really good au jus, and a little bit of horseradish...that is what I'll order almost every time.

SCARY MOVIES OR HAPPY ENDINGS? Documentaries. The ending can go either way.


LAST MOVIE YOU WATCHED? I can't remember. I don't really watch too many movies.


WHAT COLOR SHIRT ARE YOU WEARING? No shirt right now, but I usually always wear something black, then I'll dress it up by wearing something black on top of it. (But I am NOT goth!)


SUMMER OR WINTER? Summer most definitely.


HUGS OR KISSES? Yes please!


FAVORITE DESSERT? Another cocktail.


MOST LIKELY TO RESPOND? N/A

LEAST LIKELY TO RESPOND? N/A


WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING NOW? "Before I Forget" by Andre Brink. I rarely read novels, but I happend to hear a review of it on NPR and it sounded intriguing. So I bought it....and it is. (He also wrote ""A Dry White Season" which was made into a movie with a star studded cast including Marlon Brando.)

WHAT IS ON YOUR MOUSE PAD? Ususally a glass of wine or a cocktail.


WHAT DID YOU WATCH ON T.V. LAST NIGHT? My usual routine before bed is to watch David Letterman, maybe switch over to Emeril at some point, then if I'm still not tired, surf around and see what else is on. Last night I actually ended up watching an old documentary about Hitler. Not something I would normally choose to watch, but it was the only thing on. Interestingly, it turned out to be a very thought provoking show on many levels.

FAVORITE SOUND[S]? The ocean, my cat's meow, silence.


ROLLING STONES OR BEATLES? The Rolling Stones. No contest!


WHAT IS THE FARTHEST YOU HAVE BEEN FROM HOME? London.


DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL TALENT? I'm very very talented at procrastination!


WHERE WERE YOU BORN? Seattle, WA.


WHOSE ANSWERS ARE YOU LOOKING FORWARD TO GETTING BACK? I hate to tag anyone, but I would *love* to read what Erin O' Brien has to say.

comments??? (5 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.