Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2007-03-14 - 7:56 p.m.



Hello from Las Vegas!

As you can see in the photo above, it was not cheap to get here......halfway between home and Vegas, gas was $4.49/gallon for premium!! Can you believe that?! And on top of that, once we finally got here, I was hoodwinked into paying $21 for a glass (ONE glass!) of chardonnay.....not to mention the $14 cocktails and $4.00 bottles of water. Whatever happened to the $1.99 buffets??!

And we haven't even gambled yet!

Also, did you know that the slots don't take coins anymore, nor do they spit out coins if you win.....what kind of gambling is that? Ah well, we're here for the super~mega Showest convention, then on to Los Angeles tomorrow. Also, there is talk of a trip to China in my distant future (my life seems to change in impossible ways from minute to minute.) Anyone know anything about China?????
Stay tuned......

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2007-03-02 - 6:32 p.m.
Alright, I know it's been about a hundred million billion years since I last posted, and I've been promising to finish writing about the RV adventure for almost as long, but I just can't seem to get motivated. So when I saw this meme over at Lisa W's today, I thought maybe I should just get my feet wet again....maybe this will get my creative juices flowing. So here you go:


How tall are you barefoot? 5 ft. 2 in.

Have you ever flown first-class? No. And I absolutely hate to fly. But I have had two memorable flying experiences: one, on British Airways when I was a kid....they gave out little mini ice cream cones soon after take off. I looooved that! The other time was flying Virgin Airlines, years after I swore that I would never fly again. They gave out a really nice goody bag of travel items (that I still have!) and actually had good food. Virgin markets themselves as trying a little harder than the average airline....and they do. Plus, at the time, it was trendy to say that you'd flown Virgin!

One of your favorite books when you were a child? Oh how I hated to read when I was a kid! But I think it's a tie between Watership Down, The Count of Monte Cristo, and 1984.

A good restaurant in your city? This is a tough question! Since I live in San Francisco, there are about a billion good restaurants!! But one of my absolute favorites is The Rotunda at Neiman Marcus. Every meal starts off with a teeny tiny little cup of broth and a teeny tiny little crescent shaped pastry....and then they bring these enormously huge gigantic poofy popovers (with two kinds of whipped butter)! To die for! And anything you order there is food of the gods! It's spendy, but worth every penny.

What is your favorite small appliance? Hmmmm. Does a corkscrew count?

One person who never fails to make you laugh? My Love, Alan.

What was the first music that you ever bought? I think it was Fleetwood Mac, Rumors.

Do you do push-ups? No, but I have a good excuse. After five knee surgeries and one elbow surgery, my body does not work quite right to do push-ups. But I can do 100 sit-ups in a row....so there!

What was one of your favorite games as a child? Monopoly! My sister and I would have marathon games that would last for hours and hours....sometimes days! I think this feuled my future interest in real estate.

When you were twelve years old, what did you want to be when you grew up? I was torn between being a car mechanic, a chemist, or a photographer. Eventually I ended up doing property management and investing in real estate.

Your favorite Soup of the Day? I love clam chowder, but I can't eat it anymore because I'm lactose intolerant. Split pea would be my next favorite, but I don't know....is there milk in that? Chili is good. And just plain chicken broth is always comforting.

Have you ever met someone famous? Gus Van Sant, Tom Robbins, and Dani Ashe. Of course, having lived in Los Angeles, I've run into a great many famous people (as you may recall my many encounters with Steve Martin...he's stalking me, I tell you!) But Gus, Tom, and Dani (real name: Lea) I would sort of half way consider friends.....not close friends, but more than just aquaintances.

Date of Birth? 1967, The Summer of Love, baby!

From what news source do you receive the bulk of your news? Anywhere on the internet that happens to catch my eye. Also, almost every morning I ask my Love: "So what's wrong with the world today?" and he fills me in on the latest headlines

Current worry? Will I be able to pay all my bills this month?

Current hate? My current out of shapeness, the war, my lack of ability to win the lottery.

Favorite place to be? At the beach in Playa del Rey.

Least favorite place to be? The dentist, the doctor, the bank, the accountant, public bathrooms.

Do you consider yourself well organized? Organized??? What is this thing called organized??

Do you believe in an afterlife? Yes, I think so.

Where do you think you will be in 10 years? I hope I will be living in Los Angeles again, preferably the Playa del Rey area, preferably having won the lottery.

Do you burn or tan? Fry.

Are you more optimistic or pessimistic about the future? I'm in denial.

What did you fear was going to get you at night as a kid? I alway thought there was something hiding under my bed or in my closet. Even now, when I'm at my place in Oregon, I get the creeps thinking that someone might be hiding in my building. It's a huge old warehouse with lots of hidden rooms and creaky staircases. And there was one time when I'm pretty sure that my Ex was hiding in there when I arrived unexpectedly. I changed the locks after that!

What's in your pockets right now? Kleenex. I'm currently under the siege of allergies.

Last thing that made you laugh? My cat sitting on the edge of my bathtub unaware that her tail was completely in the water....then spinning around frantically chasing her tail when she realized it was all wet!

Worst injury you've ever had? I tore the tendon in my left knee when I was in my 20's. It was late at night, I'd had a lot to drink, and I was walking down hill. I'd already had a history of knee problems and surgeries (I was born wrong!) so I should have been paying more attention and holding on to someone. Down hill has always been hard for me to do, even sober. Unfortunately, I wasn't diagnosed correctly right away. With a torn tendon, I should have had surgery immediatly. It wasn't until about two or three weeks later, after I fell again (injuring both legs that time!) that I finally had surgery. So now my knee is kind of permanently f**ked up. So let this be a lesson to you, boys and girls, Don't Drink and Walk!

How many TVs do you own? Just one.

Best compliment received? Recently, I cut my hair and my Love said: "It makes you look so young!" Gotta love that!

What leaves you speechless? Trying to think of something to blog about.

What is your favorite book? That's impossible....I read soooo much. So I guess I'll just go with my favorite type of book: I basically only read non-fiction. I love travel stories from tropical places. I especially love tropical travel stories written in the 20's. Also, biographies and autobiographies have a big share of my bookcase.

Last meal you cooked for the opposite sex? I really don't like to cook. My motto is: "If I can bake it, I can make it; if I have to fry it, I won't try it." That said, I think the last meal I made was hamburgers. I have a special recipe for mixing up the meat....lots of herbs, spices, sauces, garlic, etc. I mix it all up, then my Love cooks it. Even the kids like it when I make hamburgers....and they are hard to please! But basically, I'm not the cook in the family.

What were you doing at 12 midnight last night? I was watching the first few minutes of Emeril to see if it was one I wanted to watch or if I should read my book instead. In the end, the book won.


comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.