Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2004-01-21 - 6:32 p.m.
Sorry it's been sooo long since I blogged......I should probably give you an update, eh?

Well, I decided (for many reasons!) that the chiropractor was a scam, so I made an appointment with a regular doctor. In the mean time, I've been getting by on Blue Goo and Acubeads. (Yes, I'll try anything....no matter how gimmicky.) Amazingly, the Blue Goo, which is made of emu oil and a hundred other equally strange sounding ingredients, seems to help somewhat. The Acubeads, however, are more painful to wear than they are helpful....I wouldn't recommend them.

So the doctor appointment was this morning......and he thinks I have a pinced nerve that will eventually heal on it's own. But to relieve the pain, he prescribed Vioxx, which so far seems to be working. So keep your fingers crossed!!

Then right after the doctor, I went to my dentist appointment (talk about a fun day, oy!), but that went suprisingly well.....thanks to the gas. If you've never had "the gas" before, I highly recommend it (the kind the dentist gives you, not the kind you can obtain on your own). This was my first time, and it really took the edge off things, without making me feel groggy or drugged. Those of you who know me well, know that I am the worst dental chicken.....so anything that will help me relax is a good thing!

Anyway, after a week of pain and torture, I've decided I need a day (and night) at the spa! So tomorrow night we're going to the fabulous Claremont Resort and Spa (which, ironically, I discovered when I got lost on the way to the doctor!). And yes, it is only about 15 miles from our house......but sometimes you just need to get 15 miles from your house!

So stay tuned, people! I'm sure there will be stories when I get back! Have a good weekend everybody!

comments??? (6 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2004-01-16 - 5:38 p.m.
Pain seems to be my middle name these days. My shoulder is still killing me despite all the pain relievers, anti inflammatories, and muscle relaxants I've been taking. So I broke down and went to a chiropractor today......and now I'm wondering if this whole chiropractic thing is just a scam.

It started off professional enough.....routine paperwork, questions about my medical history. But after a lengthy discussion about my ability to pay (this seemed really important), I was told that healing would not come easy, and that I would need to come in three times a week for at least a month, maybe for two or three months. At this point, I really didn't care.....I was just thinking "Whatever it takes! Just make the pain stop!!"

So finally we get to the treatment part.....and all he does is massage my shoulder for about 10 minutes (maybe less), and then shine some red lights on my shoulder for two or three minutes (infared therapy, he calls it). For all this, he charges me $95.00 and tells me I need to come back on Monday.

Hmmm.

*I could have had an hour long massage at one of the best spas in San Francisco for $95.00!*

So I came home, took a Vicodin, drank a large martini....and now I'm wondering if I've been scammed. Granted, he did say that he didn't want to do too much on my first visit, that he wanted to work gradually so that he didn't put me in more pain. But still....that seems like a lot of money for something that seemed like nothing. And Monday's treatment is going to cost me another $45.00. But I'll go.....at least one more appointment to see if it will help......I'm desperate!

But what I want to know is, have any of you guys been to a chiropractor? Did it help? Have you ever had "infared therapy"?? Is it bogus? Anybody got any Oxycodone they want to sell?? If you have any helpful advice at all, please don't hesitate to comment.....I need all the help I can get!

Well, time to go refresh my martini......goodnight everyone, keep in touch!

comments??? (7 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.