Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2003-05-04 - 11:58 p.m.
Did I say I was going to post something tonight?! Oops! Well, I'm going to bed right now....but I promise to write some fabulous post tomorrow....really!! (What do you mean, you don't believe me?!)

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-05-03 - 9:27 p.m.
Hello from Los Angeles! Sorry there's been no post for a few days, but I've been on the road: 1200 miles, blinding rain, one speeding ticket, and one lost credit card. (Not to mention *dial-up*) Oy! Anyway, I just got here....so I need to go unpack and take a long hot bath. Tomorrow we will return to our regularly scheduled program.....(I'm back on high speed internet! Yay!)

Goodnight everyone....see you tomorrow!

comments??? (2 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-04-30 - 9:26 p.m.
In the mail today, I got a letter telling me it's time to renew the insurance policy on my building. It seemed like a pretty routine deal..."sign here, pay this"....but then I noticed there were a couple of extra pages. It turns out...for appoximately 10% more...I could also get *Terrorism Insurance*!

I've been debating the merits of this all day.

Let's say I don't get the *terrorism insurance*.....and my building burns down. It would be pretty easy for the insurance company to just say..."that was an act of terrorism".....therefore, they wouldn't have to pay my claim.

But, on the other hand, if I do buy the *terrorism insurance*.....am I not playing in to the hands of the *terrorists*...and the insurance companies, who are making money off of all our fears?!

I feel like I'm damned if I do, damned if I don't.

Although, I must say I had to laugh when I got this letter.....last year they said they wouldn't cover terrorist acts.....but this year they've found a way to capitalize on them!

It bugs me. That's all I've got to say.

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-04-29 - 10:58 p.m.
I have to admit, I was really quite nervous about having Jenn come visit my place in Astoria....it's just not really set up for entertaining (it's a warehouse!). But I tried to be my *Martha Stewart* best....and laid out a little mini buffet....which included a fabulous piece of smoked salmon from Josephson's Smokehouse...(the best smoked salmon on the planet!) and a really great spicy dip called Toby's Lite & Spicy Tofu Pate' (made in Eugene by Tofu Palace Products 1-800-600-tofu).....I'm mentioning these items because she asked about them, and I forgot to give her the info!...(but now you all can partake in our buffet goodness!)

OK.....I know you're all waiting for the gossip! Well, we sat and chatted, sipped champagne and gossiped....but all the gossip stays between us! (Oh wait....I haven't read her blog yet! She's probably already spilled all my deep dark secrets! Hmmm....) Actually, I was suprised we got along so well and had so much in common.

And then there was the dog. Jenn is a *foster parent* for greyhound dogs (which is a cool thing to do) and wondered if she could bring the dog with her. There was some concern because the dog is not *cat friendly*...and I have a cat. But we were able to keep the dog in one part of the building...and the cat in the other. And I must say, it was a fabulous dog! If I didn't have a cat, I would have seriously considered adopting it. It was so friendly and sweet.....and most of the time it just curled up and slept....a regular couch potato!

Anyway, we had a great time (thanks, Jenn, for driving all the way out here!) I wish I had more gossip....but maybe no gossip is a good thing! Goodnight everybody....now go on over and check out Jenn's blog!!

comments??? (4 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-04-28 - 10:51 p.m.
Tomorrow, Jenn from Illusionaire will bravely go where no blogger has gone before....she is actually going to drive all the way out to the wilds of Astoria...to visit me! This will make her the first official blogger to ever set foot inside my crumbling building!! (I'm probably more frightened about this than she is.)

It will be interesting to see how this goes. I've noticed that when people come into the building, they either love it or hate it. See, it's this big old cement warehouse that's been converted into part living space, part antique store, part who knows what. And it's filled to the gills with stuff....everything from cool stuff to just plain old junk. Some people really love that and can spend hours just wandering around exploring. Other people are repulsed, claim an allergy to dust....and leave immediately. (Jenn...you don't have an allergy to dust do you??)

Well, stay tuned everybody.....I'm sure we will both have plenty to blog about by the end of the day!

comments??? (4 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-04-27 - 10:20 p.m.
So today I did the Wine Festival (otherwise know as the Crab & Seafood Festival....especially if you are driving!) I decided not to drive this time because I know that during an event like this, the police in Astoria will give you a DUI just for thinking of a bottle of wine! It's pretty strict here. So I took the shuttle.

Now, if you know me at all....you'll know that "taking the shuttle" is not something I do. I am a *car guy* (even though I am a woman!) I don't like busses, I don't like cabs, I don't like subways, I don't like planes. I drive. So when I say, "I took the shuttle"......that's a really big deal. But I swallowed my pride....donned my Crab Hat....and walked to the bus stop.

Well, in years past, the Crab Hat was very popular. It was a sign, an emblem, a badge of honor....showing that you were a supporter of the *Crab* Festival. It was a sign to all others that the festival was about crab....not about wine (even though you were drunk on wine when you bought the hat......and as a tradition, wearing the hat meant drinking lots of wine.) But for some reason....this year, I was the only one wearing *The Hat.* Hmmmm......

Anyway.....so I get to the festival and it seems much smaller and somehow less festive that in years past (no hats!). After tasting half a dozen not~so~good wines....I begin wondering if I've been spoiled by years of drinking good California wine...or if Oregon wines have gone down hill....or maybe I'm just picking wrong. And then I spot Fizzy Lizzie!! The ruby coloured sparkling wine that had lured me back year after year! (I had completely forgotten about it!!) It's a semi sweet champagne that has the flavor of sparkling pomegrantes. Not a traditional champagne, but quite intriquing and fabulous....in a decadent sort of way. (It's from the Kristin Hill Winery in Amity, Oregon. I can't seem to find a website for it, but their phone # is 503-835-0850.)

After sampling Fizzy Lizzie, I stayed on and sampled a bit longer, hoping to find another jewel in crowd.....but no luck. So I went to the food court to have my obligatory *crab* melt, then headed out to wait for the bus. (Amazingly, I was the only one getting on the bus at that time, so the bus driver said, "allow me to be your personal limousine!" How cool is that?! Maybe public transportation isn't so bad after all.)

So now I'm back at home, preparing for tomorrow's hangover! Goodnight everyone....drink lots of water!!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.