Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2003-04-16 - 11:15 p.m.
So tomorrow I'm off again to land of dial-up.....I'm making that long trek back to Astoria to make sure my building is still standing. Of course, this means blogging may be sparse at times, but I'll try to make up for that by providing the most fascinating stories! Stay tuned.....a lot can happen in 1200 miles!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-04-15 - 11:50 p.m.
Can you believe it?! Absolutely nothing interesting happened today....and I have absolutely nothing interesting to say. How did that happen??! Hmmm.....

Well, goodnight everyone! Check back tomorrow for the latest updates!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-04-15 - 12:00 a.m.
Well I have no update on the burning airplane......other than the general concensus seems to be that it was probably not all that life threatening. But there were some interesting comments.

Zelda wondered if anyone had called 911 or the airport. And amazingly, I hadn't even thought of that! And I don't think anybody else on the beach did either. We were all just watching in awe. If it had been something burning on land, I'm sure we all would have been dialing 911. But it was in the sky....so I think we all felt at a loss some how.

And Gary pointed out that if they weren't flying that far, it might have been faster and wiser to just fly on to the next destination rather than trying to turn around and wait for landing time at LAX. And I do agree with this theory somewhat (since LAX is such a super busy airport)....but I would hope that if it was an emergency landing situation, that plane would be given precedence over the others.

And lastly, Fran points out that the plane may have been backfiring like cars sometimes do. That the plane was probably in need of maintenance, but not to the point that it would bring the plane down.

OK....well...I don't know about you, but I'm glad I wasn't on that plane!!! (Yet another reason why I hate to fly!)

Goodnight everybody! Thanks for all your comments!! Sleep well!!

comments??? (3 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2003-04-13 - 6:28 p.m.
I live very close to LAX. So close that when I walk on the beach, it seems that the airplanes are taking off over my head.

Tonight a very strange and scary thing happend. As I was walking down the beach, someone yelled and started pointing at the plane that had just taken off.....one of it's engines was on fire!! Several people stopped to watch. It flew low over the ocean instead of rising up like they usually do. There was a trail of dark smoke.....and then a puff....and the fire went out. We all stood watching....fearing the worse, since the plane just kept flying low. I think we all expected that it would turn around and go back to the airport, but it just kept going and eventually disappeared into the horizon.

That's not normal is it?! I mean for a plane to take off with one of it's engines on fire....and just keep going? I've lived here over a year and must have seen hundreds of planes taking off over the beach. But I've never seen one go out with an engine in full flame. I'm pretty freaked out over this. If anybody can tell me this is a normal occurance.....that it's harmless and the plane will be fine.....please leave me a note in the comments.

comments??? (8 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.