Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AS SEEN ON

UNSCREWED

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


My Art

100 THINGS about me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos of Me

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


2002-07-12 - 12:29 a.m.
Hello again from L.A.! I promised to give you the full story, so here it is.

On Monday, I left Astoria in the rain...the temperature starting out quite cool....then gradually reaching the very definition of "too hot" as I drove through miles and miles of empty fields. At one point, I noticed a large truck had broke down beside the road.....and a whole field of cows had gathered....all staring at the truck, clearly this was their entertainment for the day....and mine too! Quite an interesting sight....if only I had got a picture!!

Anyway, I made it to San Fransisco with one day to spare before pushing on to Los Angeles. And what better to do on a day off in hot weather than to go up to the Napa Valley for some wine tasting! We had got up sort of early....and since Napa is only about an hour and a half from our place in S.F. it seemed like the perfect plan. But....that was before the beer bottles started exploding!! Yes....Exploding!

You see...my Love brews his own beer. In all the time I've known him, he's made some fabulous beer, but never has he made such an explosive batch! Apparently, home brewing is a somewhat delicate process....and if everything is not just right.....the bottles will explode! And explode they did!! At first, though, we couldn't figure out what the noise was (the bottles were in the spare room with the door shut). He thought it was the cat....I thought it was something outside.....finally we figured out it was the bottles! There were several cases of bottles that needed now to be uncapped (very carefully) before they all exploded ...Oy! Fortuately, we discovered this before we went up to Napa for the day....or we would have had a horrendous mess on our hands.

After cleaning up all that.....Napa sounded even better.....so we headed out. Now when we go to Napa, we usually seek out all the wineries that make Champagne.....and on a hot hot day....what could be better????? Our usual rounds are Tattinger, Chandon, Mumm, and then Coppola.

Now I'm making a big deal here about Coppola's winery....because not only do they make fabulous wine....but it is owned by Francis Ford Coppola, so his Academy awards on display, one of the original Tucker cars is on display, as well as tons of other movie momorabilia. So this tends to add even more to the experience than just wine tasting. If you go to Napa....you must do this winery! (ooh! and try the Talia Rose! It's a fabulous, dry but fruity, delicious chilled wine.)

Ok....so now I should wrap this up....it's getting late....and I should go to bed! (been sipping too much Talia Rose!) So those cows I showed in the last post....the Oreo cows......they are the most amazing thing. If you drive up to Napa from the Bay Area, you'll surely see them. I've been going up there occasionally, over a period of 15 years.....and they are always there! A whole field of these Oreo cows! How do they do it?????

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-07-09 - 11:39 p.m.

Well....this is just a teaser post.....got to San Fransisco....went up to Napa....and saw these cows....the Oreo cows!! Tomorrow....big drive to Los Angeles....possible stop at Harris Ranch. Then I'll give you the full story. Stay tuned!!!

comments??? (1 so far...) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get

 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.